Journal logo

How to Be a Shipt Shopper

Shipt

By Scott LavelyPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

**This is not an ad, nor am I being paid to make this. This is a 100 percent honest review.**

Making money is something all of us need to do, and some of us have to take up multiple jobs to avoid living paycheck to paycheck. I took up a delivery job with Shipt, an app where you do groceries for people and deliver them. I thought I'd try it out, and I sent in an application. I loved how extensive it was; it was mostly based around customer service, i.e., how would I respond to an item in the order being out of stock? What if the customer was not home, and I could not get a hold of him or her? It was a written, and also a video-submission, interview, and they got back to me within a week. They also conducted a background check, and functioned as your everyday delivery store company. They mailed my package (a shirt and a card), and when I reached out to customer service to confirm my address, they swiftly checked, responded, informed me of the confirmation, and were very nice and welcoming.

The card is a credit or debit card of sorts; you apply this card to your account, and when a customer orders something, the money they pay goes immediately into your account, and you pay with that card instead of paying with your own personal money. It is very convenient, and makes things a lot easier for something like this.

The app is simple: You accept orders (you can accept whichever ones you want, but you have 60 seconds to accept an order), and make the delivery. They can also tip, but just like with any other delivery service, that is optional for the buyer, and not enforced, but recommended.

Now, let's talk about a few things:

1) Tips and wages

You are not going to get tips from half of your orders. Most won't tip you. But, you can make $7 to $15 per order, which usually takes an hour per order. If you manage your time well, you can be making at least $10 per hour. They use direct deposit every Friday, and I know Shipt claims you can make $20 or more per hour, but that's only if every customer gives you $10 or more for a tip, and $10 or more for the delivery—not realistic at all. This is second income for me, and probably is not suitable as an only job, but if you can make it work, then keep on doing what you're doing.

2) The app itself

Above is a video of me going through the app and explaining it. It's not that complex, and so I'll explain it briefly here:

You pick a major city to work in. I live in Tennessee, and there are only Chattanooga and Nashville. I live 35 miles from Nashville, so I work there since it's closest. So, I drive 45 minutes to Nashville, and accept an order in a certain sector of the city; "promo orders" are orders that are close to end, and the app gives you a bonus for accepting them and hurrying to get them finished. Once you have a good reputation on he app, you can even take two or three orders at a time (which is only advisable if you can do it in a very timely manner). Then, you go and shop for the products the customer wants; any products you cannot find, you contact the customer (who is available in the app), and tell them you cannot find it, and ask what they would like as a substitute, or if they would like the item just discarded from the order, meaning you would mark it as "not found." Each one you find will need its barcode scanned in the app to make sure the product and pricing are correct. You go to the checkout line, press "checkout" in the app, and you pay with the card they provide (run the money as "credit"). Then, it will charge the customer, you tell the customer you're on your way, and then you go make the delivery. And that's it!

3) Customer service

Customer service is amazing! I have heard from multiple people they've had bad experiences with them, but I personally have not! I reached out to them to make sure they had my address for my shipment of my shirt and card, and they got back to me within a few hours, and were very nice!

4) Hours

You set your own hours and can take breaks at any point, so it's easy to use as a second job opportunity

5) Taxes

They do not take out any taxes, state or federal, so just keep that in mind! Keep track of your miles traveled, to put on your taxes.

If you are interested in becoming a shopper, I highly recommend it! If you are interested, please use the following code on your application: D51A59

Apply here: https://www.shipt.com/be-a-shopper/

Don't want to be a shopper, but still want to have your groceries delivered? Cool! Use my link when you sign up for Shipt and get free groceries!

https://www.shipt.com/groceries/?r=D51A59

product review
Like

About the Creator

Scott Lavely

I am a transgender individual trying to bring light to LGBTQA+ in the USA and other areas of the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.