Journal logo

How It Can Shape Your Life

By Tobias Cedar

By Tobias CedarPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How It Can Shape Your Life
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Research helps us, but it may sometimes not give us the results we expect, want or feel willing to accept. Once you get into the books, searching and scavenging for any bits and scraps of information you can find, it is glorious, exhilarating, even, but when you bring out the red string and map pins, there's nothing better than lining everything up and linking it around, looping the thread or soft wool around the cold metal of the multi-coloured tips of the pins. Once you've figured it out and pieced together everything you have though, its something else entirely.

This may be the first article I post, but it is one of the more important ones, I can tell you that. Even as I am writing this down I am feeling satisfied, overjoyed with how far I've come, and one day we will all look back, and be amazed...

You need a motivated mindset for research, any kind, it doesn't matter. School projects, articles like this one, they all require one thing above all else. Motivation.

A quiet space is also a large part of getting your research done, but most study groups and teams collectively find a space or room to rent out for a little while and get their quietness right away, but for others living in a house, flat, apartment or townhouse, its not so simple.

My brother is, to be frank, quite a nightmare when it comes to being quiet. Who am I kidding? He's making demented monkey/pigeon/whale noises (it's kind of hard to tell) while playing video games with his friend from church as I'm writing right now!

But I manage to find a quiet space, in my room, with the door closed, and my laptop on charge, and I write. Writings fantastic, I love it. It never depends on if its a document, research paper for my PHD, or just a fun project like this, I am always in the mood for a little writing, as it is one of my key interests and favourite things to do to get my mind off things. Like just this morning, when my little bro's friend came over to our house and we were packing for our holiday to Blacksmith beach, him and his friend were sitting in the living room drawing using his Silly Scent pens, and when he and his friend had done enough, they asked for the iPad. I thought this was outrageous because while the rest of the family had been working, packing and preparing, he had been lazing around doing nothing to help. I had attempted to 'encourage' my brother to do some work like everyone else, but no-one seemed to understand or care about the injustice of it all. I then went into my room, got to writing my draft papers, and started this.

On a completely unrelated topic, if you ever get the opportunity in life, make sure to get as many PHD's as you can. I know it's easier said then done, but it will be worth it. You can get almost any job you want, do anything you want to do, become anything you want to become, and before you know it, you'll have owners of VIP lounges begging for you to come in and make them look good.

Starting your education in university degrees early may sound boring and needlessly stressful, but I'm here to tell you... It really is. There are many upsides to it to, though, you can fully understand how it will all work so that when you get to Uni, you will have all the heads up you need to go smoothly though however long you choose to spend in there, and easily surpass everyone else, getting your degree polished and shined before having it handed to you on the most luxurious silver platter you can dream of.

That my friends, is called a flex.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Tobias Cedar

First of all, how have you been going recently? I've been grand. So when you think of me, just picture an intellectually advanced man with impeccable wit and comedic genius,

But please make sure there is not an ounce of humbleness in there.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.