Journal logo

How I Reversed My Diabetes-Induced Hair Loss with Red Light Therapy

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 10 months ago 6 min read
Like

I have always had thick and shiny hair, ever since I was a little girl. I loved to style it in different ways, from braids to buns, from curls to waves. I felt confident and beautiful with my hair, and I received many compliments from others.

But everything changed when I was diagnosed with diabetes at the age of 25. Diabetes is a chronic condition that affects how the body regulates blood sugar levels. It can cause various complications, such as nerve damage, kidney failure, heart disease, and vision loss.

And it can also cause hair loss.

I noticed that my hair started to thin and fall out more than usual. I would find strands of hair on my pillow, in the shower, and on my brush. I panicked and tried to hide it with different hairstyles, but it was no use. My scalp became more visible, and my hair lost its luster and volume.

I felt depressed and insecure about my appearance. I avoided looking at myself in the mirror, and I stopped going out with my friends. I felt like I had lost a part of myself, and I didn’t know what to do.

I went to see my doctor, who explained to me that diabetes can affect hair growth in several ways. It can impair blood circulation, cause hormonal imbalances, trigger autoimmune reactions, and increase inflammation and oxidative stress. All of these factors can damage the hair follicles, which are the structures that produce hair on the scalp and other parts of the body.

He advised me to manage my blood sugar levels and overall health with a healthy diet, exercise, medication, and stress management. He also prescribed me some topical products and supplements that claimed to help with hair loss, but they didn’t work for me. They were either too expensive, too messy, or too irritating for my scalp.

I felt hopeless and frustrated. I searched online for other solutions, but I was overwhelmed by the amount of information and products available. Some of them sounded too good to be true, while others had mixed or negative reviews. I didn’t know who to trust or what to try.

Then one day, I stumbled upon an article that caught my attention. It was about best red light therapy for hair loss.

What is red light therapy?

Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and healing. It is also known as low-level laser therapy (LLLT), photobiomodulation (PBM), or cold laser therapy.

Red light therapy works by delivering photons (light particles) to the cells in the body. These photons are absorbed by the mitochondria, which are the energy-producing units of the cells. This boosts the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), which is the fuel for cellular functions. This also increases blood flow, oxygen delivery, collagen synthesis, and anti-inflammatory factors in the tissues.

How does red light therapy help with hair loss?

Red light therapy has been shown to help with various types of hair loss, including those caused by diabetes. Some of the benefits of red light therapy for hair loss are:

  • Stimulating hair follicle growth. Red light therapy can increase the number and size of hair follicles on the scalp by activating stem cells and increasing blood flow.
  • Extending the anagen phase. Red light therapy can prolong the anagen phase of the hair cycle, which is the active growth phase. This means more hairs are growing at any given time.
  • Reducing inflammation and oxidative stress. Red light therapy can reduce inflammation and oxidative stress in the scalp tissue, which can damage the hair follicles and cause hair loss.
  • Improving hair quality and thickness. Red light therapy can improve the quality and thickness of the hair shafts by increasing keratin production and strengthening the hair structure.

The article also mentioned some studies that supported these claims. For example, a study published in 2019 found that red light therapy improved hair density and thickness in patients with alopecia areata. Another study published in 2013 found that red light therapy increased hair count and diameter in patients with pattern baldness.

How to use red light therapy for hair loss?

Red light therapy for hair loss can be done in a clinic or at home with a device designed for this purpose. The device usually consists of a cap or helmet that emits red or near-infrared light over the scalp area.

The article recommended using a device that had at least 650 nm wavelength and 5 mW power output per diode. It also suggested following these steps:

  • Wearing the device on your head for 10 to 30 minutes per session
  • Doing 2 to 3 sessions per week for several weeks or months
  • Continuing maintenance sessions once or twice a month after achieving results

The article also assured me that red light therapy was safe and painless for most people. However, it advised me to consult my doctor before using it, especially if I had any medical conditions or was taking any medications that could affect my sensitivity to light. It also warned me to avoid direct eye contact with the light source or wear protective eyewear, and to keep the device clean and dry to prevent infection or damage.

I was intrigued by the article and decided to give red light therapy a try. I searched online for the best red light therapy devices for hair loss and found one that met the criteria and had good reviews. I ordered it and waited for it to arrive.

My experience with red light therapy

When I received the device, I was excited and nervous at the same time. I read the instructions carefully and prepared myself for the first session. I put the cap on my head, turned it on, and relaxed on my couch.

I felt a slight warmth on my scalp, but no pain or discomfort. I listened to some music and closed my eyes. The time passed quickly, and before I knew it, the session was over.

I repeated this process 3 times a week for the next 2 months. I didn’t notice any changes at first, but I was patient and hopeful. I took pictures of my scalp every week to track my progress.

After 4 weeks, I started to see some improvement. My hair looked fuller and shinier, and my scalp was less visible. I was amazed and happy.

After 8 weeks, I saw even more improvement. My hair was thicker and stronger, and my bald spots were filling in. I was ecstatic and grateful.

I continued to use red light therapy for another 4 weeks, and then switched to maintenance mode. I now use it once a month to keep my results.

I can’t believe how much red light therapy has changed my life. It has restored my hair, my confidence, and my happiness. I feel like myself again, and I love it.

I highly recommend red light therapy to anyone who is suffering from hair loss due to diabetes or any other reason. It is easy, effective, safe, and affordable. It is worth a try.

If you are interested in trying red light therapy for hair loss, you can search online for the best red light therapy devices for hair loss or ask your doctor for more information.

Thank you for reading my story. I hope it inspires you and helps you find a solution for your hair loss problem. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you and your experience with red light therapy for hair loss.

product reviewhow toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.