Journal logo

How I Regrew My Hair with Oils and Light

Hailey Jones

By Vitality VibePublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have always struggled with my hair. It was thin, fine, and prone to breakage. I tried everything to make it look thicker and healthier: shampoos, conditioners, masks, supplements, you name it. But nothing worked.

Then, when I was 27, I noticed something that terrified me: my hair was falling out. Not just a few strands here and there, but clumps of it. Every time I washed or brushed my hair, I would see more and more of it on the drain or on the floor. I was losing my hair.

I went to see a dermatologist, who diagnosed me with androgenetic alopecia, a genetic condition that causes hair loss in both men and women. He prescribed me some medications and topical treatments, but they had little effect and came with unpleasant side effects. I felt hopeless and depressed.

I started to avoid social situations, feeling embarrassed and insecure about my appearance. I wore hats, scarves, and wigs to cover up my bald spots, but they were uncomfortable and unnatural. I hated looking at myself in the mirror, feeling like I had lost a part of my identity.

I decided to look for alternative solutions, something natural and safe that could help me restore my hair growth and thickness. I did some research online and came across two methods that caught my attention: oil mixtures and red light therapy for hair loss.

Oil mixtures are homemade concoctions of carrier oils and essential oils that can nourish the scalp and hair follicles, stimulate blood circulation, and prevent hair loss. They can also moisturize, condition, and protect the hair from damage and breakage.

Carrier oils are the base oils that dilute the essential oils and make them safe to apply on your scalp and hair. They are usually derived from nuts, seeds, or fruits. Some of the best carrier oils for hair growth and thickness are coconut oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, and argan oil.

Essential oils are concentrated extracts from plants that have various therapeutic benefits for the scalp and hair. They are usually obtained by distillation or cold pressing. Some of the best essential oils for hair growth and thickness are rosemary oil, lavender oil, peppermint oil, and cedarwood oil.

To make your own oil mixture, you need to choose a carrier oil and one or more essential oils based on your scalp type and hair needs. You can use 2 tablespoons of carrier oil for every 10 drops of essential oils. You can adjust this ratio according to your preference and sensitivity.

You need to mix the oils well in a glass bottle or jar and shake well before each use. You can store your oil mixture in a cool, dark place away from direct sunlight for up to 6 months.

To use your oil mixture for hair growth and thickness, you need to apply some of the oil mixture on your fingertips or a cotton ball and massage it gently into your scalp using circular motions for about 10 minutes. Then you need to cover your hair with a shower cap or a towel and leave it on for at least 30 minutes or overnight. Then you need to wash your hair with a mild shampoo and conditioner and rinse well. You can repeat this process 2-3 times a week for best results.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate the cells and tissues of the scalp and hair. It can help increase blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the hair follicles, which can promote hair growth and prevent hair loss. It can also reduce inflammation, oxidative stress, and scalp infections that can damage the hair.

Red light therapy is painless, safe, and easy to use at home. You can use a red light therapy device such as a cap, helmet, band, or comb that emits red light to your scalp and hair. You can use it for about 10-30 minutes per session, depending on the device and your needs. You can do this 2-4 times a week for optimal results.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be effective for hair growth and thickness, red light therapy for hair growth reviews can be found online. For example, one study found that men and women with androgenetic alopecia who used an at-home red light therapy device for 24 weeks grew thicker hair. Another study found that red light therapy reduced hair loss and increased hair density in women with female pattern hair loss.

Red light therapy can also work well with oil mixtures for hair growth and thickness. You can use them together or separately to enhance their benefits. For example, you can apply your oil mixture before or after using your red light therapy device, or you can use them on different days of the week.

I decided to try both methods, hoping to see some improvement in my hair. And I did.

After six months of using oil mixtures and red light therapy, I noticed a significant change in my hair. It started to grow back thicker, fuller, and stronger. It also became softer, shinier, and healthier. My bald spots were filling up with new hairs, and my existing hairs were growing longer and faster.

I felt a surge of confidence and happiness. I started to go out more often, feeling proud of my appearance. I stopped wearing hats, scarves, and wigs, showing off my natural hair. I received compliments from my friends, family, and strangers on how beautiful my hair looked.

I couldn’t believe that oil mixtures and red light therapy had such a positive impact on my hair growth and thickness. They were natural, safe, easy to use at home, and affordable compared to other treatments that had little or no effect.

I am so grateful that I found these methods that helped me regain my hair and my self-esteem. They changed my life for the better.

If you are struggling with hair loss or thinning hair, I highly recommend you to try oil mixtures and red light therapy for yourself. You might be surprised by the results. They might work for you as well as they did for me.

Have you tried any of these methods for hair growth and thickness? What were your results? Share your thoughts and experiences in the comments below! I would love to hear from you!

adviceproduct reviewhow to
Like

About the Creator

Vitality Vibe

I hope you will join me on this adventure of becoming health warriors. Let’s make health our priority and happiness our goal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.