Journal logo

How I Personally Got Into Commentary and the Influencer Parties That Set Off the World

So many people were not happy with the entitlement that the influencers on this platform have shown recently and in my deep-dive research I have come to find even more that goes beyond the drama.

By Miss Opinionated Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
How I Personally Got Into Commentary and the Influencer Parties That Set Off the World
Photo by Soundtrap on Unsplash

In the world of any social media there is a fast-paced craving and need for the latest gossip, some type of drama, or scandal that people can get behind. Drama sells.

That is just a motto for life and one that commentary/reaction/drama channels all count on. We each share a perspective that is unique to us and the audiences we build decide to take or leave us as we are.

I personally come from a viewpoint that while drama may sell creators can take things to far and thus start to condone a sense of toxic culture. This was always what I wanted to discuss from the start.

An almost sick and obsessive fascination of watching people destroy relationships, friendships, and other creators all for the sake of money was something that I wanted to explore. The allure of money is so powerful and thus what people are willing to do for it. The human mind gets enslaved by it.

It is just a piece of paper but we throw away everything we stand for it. The more is shown to us, the higher stakes we put out. All for the sake of instant gratification and the high that comes with being able to do what you want with it.

By Pepi Stojanovski on Unsplash

While that study was truly fascinating I had no idea how I would even go about starting to talk about this. Sure, many could find it interesting and with the proper amount of time I could make great videos on said topics.

However more and more information came out and I had thoughts on all of these instances. Now I was starting to think on what I could build my YouTube niche around: commentary.

It started as a means to address the situation with creators and how their behavior was affecting their audiences. Little did I know it would get as big as it did.

One of the most popular YouTubers, Jake Paul, who is known for getting involved in scandals through a party with over the amount of people that could gather to party, no social distancing, and no masks.

His neighbors were not happy with the amount of partying nor with what it implied. The mayor of Calabasas got involved and had to take legal moves to shut down the party and assure the county that this would be the last one.

Not even 2 weeks later was another party thrown by a well-known influencer on YouTube as well; Nikita Dragun. She was hosting a birthday party for a friend.

Not only did she go against the regulations made by those governing in LA not even 2 weeks after fellow influencer, Jake Paul, got backlash for the same thing, but also decided that it was a good idea to post the whole thing on social media.

As you can imagine people were not happy and wanted answers as to why they were blatantly disobeying the government law. Others had a different reaction. Some looked at it as a means of saying the world was 'back to normal' and we can all hang out again.

Needless to say that there was a spike in COVID cases shortly thereafter. Many were forced into stricter rules for lock down, and small businesses were shut back down again.

Not many were happy with these outcomes and I am among them. I grabbed a camera and recorded my response. I must admit that I was more heated than I would normally like to come off however I feel that to capture that moment and then when I felt calmer was something that I wanted to do.

I felt that there was not much difference in the delivery other than the raw frustration that was partially held back a little later on in the video and I think that was clear.

The video above was the result. Little did I know that this even would set off a chain reaction and a fire to research every creator, every piece of drama, every side of a story that I could possibly get my hand on. Not even for the drama aspect. Rather the motive behind it.

As I dug further into this world that I was loving as a means to share my love of books and writing with others, I started to see the problems beyond it. It would have been irresponsible of me to sit back and ignore it when my whole reason for getting a platform, for creating, and building a trust with my audience was to share the harder topics of life and to not back down from those conversations.

For once in my life I was not going to be afraid!

I am not going to back out now that I have started. There is so much work to do in order to create a world where people feel safe to voice an opinion without fear of being invalidated. Without the fear that they will be mocked.

So I continue to research and I continue to bring up the issues because who else is going to do it. You need to be the change that you want to see and that is a motto that will stick with me, remind me, and encourage me to speak up, listen, and encourage open conversations.

This, as brief as it will ever get from me, was my journey into commentary. I hope you enjoyed reading! I thank you so much for taking time out of your day to do so.

If you want to hear some more of my dry humor, sarcasm, and cringe worthy commentary than feel free to check out my channel and you will not be disappointed. I try to post somewhat daily content and of course let you all know what is happening on this blog!

I also have a Pinterest with all of my special book recs, fun merch, and aesthetic boards that are my inspiration for future projects.

As always any generous donations go straight back into investments for all social media platforms and further educational expenses!

Thank you again and have a great rest of the day!

social media
Like

About the Creator

Miss Opinionated

I am commentary YouTuber who focuses on behavioral patterns and perspectives beyond the drama in a sarcastic light.

YouTube: Miss Opinionated

Tik Tok: miss.opinionated

Twitch: opinionatedgirl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.