Journal logo

How I Increased My Medium Reads By 400 Percent

Dissecting my unbelievable stats between May and July 2021

By Oly AwambaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Ksenia Chernaya from Pexels

Between May and July 2021, my readership increased by over 400 percent. I gained over 150 new followers and my Medium income increased by over 1000 percent. As a new writer, it still feels unbelievable.

Let’s explore what happened within that period.

Number of Stories

In May, I published 20 stories.

In June, I published 12 stories.

In July, I published 5 stories.

37 stories in three months.

Before then, I had only published 13 stories from December 2020 to April 2021.

Correct Use of Publications

Like a lot of writers new to Medium, I was new to the concept of publications. I was clueless about what stories to pitch to what publications and how best to reach their audience.

From May to July, I got into more publications. I studied their terms and submitted stories accordingly. With this, I drew reads and followers from as many publications as I got accepted to.

I will list the top three publications that got hundreds of eyes on my stories.

Better Marketing

This publication is primarily for stories about marketing, business, and creativity. New writers looking to niche down to marketing and business follow the stories on here. Writers looking to create a business with their content and other business owners make up this audience.

My highest-grossing story to date is Put your mouth where your money is. This is because Better Marketing is very serious about promoting their writers’ works. They use their social media and other networks to ensure these stories get traction.

Feedium

This publication for all things Medium and blogging-related boasts of an engaging audience. New and established writers follow the stories here to get tips on how to succeed on the platform.

The story with my highest Medium member reads was published here - How To Maximize The After-Effects of Your Medium Responses. With 94% of its audience internal, you can tell how much Medium members love to read about Medium.

Illumination

My top three list would not be complete without this publication. They welcomed me with open arms as a novice and helped me spread my wings.

In May, I tried my hands on humor. Boy, did I smash it (pun intended).

I wrote about a trending topic on Medium at the time. Umm… Excuse Me, I Did Not Get The $500 Bonus. I published it in a publication known to be a newbie favorite. It was a hit.

Screenshot by Author

Reading Great Stories

As Mary DeVries said, Reading exposes one to more ideas and different ways of saying things.

I have found this to be true. As a person. As a writer.

The below articles are seven of my favorites from different genres across different platforms. Vocal and Medium.

23 Examples of Effective Headlines by Nadia Rawls

Five Tactics to Get You from Amateur Writer to Prolific Writer by Jessica Lynn

Quotes by Actual Humans that Blew My Mind by Sean Kernan

Miss Smythe Has a Fantasy by Lydia Stewart

Quiet People in Meetings Are Incredible by Tim Denning

90 of the Best Opening Hooks From Articles With Over 10,000 Claps Each by J.J. Pryor

A Mother's Cover Letter by Stephanie Rosas.

Summary

Some may argue that these factors do not matter if my writing is not good. I agree. However, good writing is subjective. These tips will work for you whether as an amateur starting out or an experienced writer.

Worthy of mention is the fact that within those months, I was at my best in engagement. As much as I read and enjoyed people’s work, I clapped and commented the same. I followed writers whose resonated with me and from whom I wanted to read again.

-------------------

This story was first published here.

--------------------

how to
Like

About the Creator

Oly Awamba

I write about life as I know it. As I experience it. As it could be better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.