Families logo

A Mother’s Cover Letter

The Things I Wish I Would Say

By Stephanie RosasPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2021
27

To whom it may concern,

I know my resume seems unimpressive. You’re not wrong to think that. I know it’s unimpressive. In fact, it’s so unimpressive that every time I look at it… I cry. There’s a painfully obvious large gap missing from my work experience. What could I have possibly been doing for so many years instead of working? The truth is: I’ve been home. I’ve been taking care of two beautiful little girls who have taken up more time and energy than what I want to admit. They are wonderful tiny humans and I’m sure you’d be impressed if you met them, but for now you’ll just have to take my word for it. Nonetheless, I’d like to say that they are who they are because of me. Because of the decision I made to stop pursuing what I loved and aspired to be to instead stay home and care for people who needed me the most. My love and dedication to let my children learn and grow in a healthy and encouraging environment has molded them into someone better than who my husband and I could ever be.

I’m embarrassed to list “homemaker” or “mother” as my ‘Most Recent Employment’, so instead I wrote ‘Freelance Copywriter’. I didn’t lie. I have been spending all my free time writing. But, to write I was “just” a mother in all those years is frowned upon and no one really seems to want to hear it. Why is it viewed as “lazy” or “an easy way out”? I have gained so many skills that would be useful to any company and any high ranking position. I have years of experience that for some reason doesn’t count. Yet, I can handle high pressure situations and I’m excellent at time management. I know the importance of sacrifice for the better good and team work. I’m highly compassionate and empathetic. Only to name a few of the things I’ve learned and gained from being a full time mother. For the past couple of years I’ve worked hard and nonstop and never asked for rewards or even a thank you. But I can’t list that on my resume because it’s seems silly and unnecessary to say. But I feel like it should be said. Becoming a mother was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to learn to do. It took me years to accept this role and learn how to be the best I could be. I never had a mentor or a list of responsibilities given to me. The internet was filled with advice and suggestions, but made it difficult to know what actually pertained to me and my family. Yet, I overcame it all. I overcame the postpartum depression and body dysmorphia while maintaining a functioning home and building the future generation. I pushed through the anxiety and social pressures and fed my children’s bodies and minds.

I think being a mother has made me the strongest and best version of myself. I wish it wasn’t seen as “easy” because it’s not easy at all. And I wish it was viewed as a job and not just an irrelevant portion of my life. I’m tired, burnt out, and overworked, yet I wouldn’t trade those years I had with them for anything in the world. And although I immensely love my daughters, I still can’t wrap myself around the idea of being a “mother” for the rest of my life. I once was full of aspiration and hope, and the time is slowly coming for me to chase those things again. To use everything I have learned in the past couple of years to pursue something new. So, here I am boldly asking for a chance. For you to take a chance on a mother. Probably the most experienced person you could ever hire.

Kindest Regards,

An Honest Mom

parents
27

About the Creator

Stephanie Rosas

just your average writer writing about stuff.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • BEER BRAND2 years ago

    superb,,, yes honest mom!! proud of her!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.