Journal logo

How I Earn an Income as a Web Designer (and You Can Too)

Earn an income from home (or anywhere!)

By Faith SummerPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like
How I Earn an Income as a Web Designer (and You Can Too)
Photo by Domenico Loia on Unsplash

"How did you become a web designer? Is that what you always wanted to be?"

Nope. I wanted to be a psychologist actually. I even went to university to study psych and joined all the right extra-circulars.

However at some point, I got bored sitting in the classroom. I started focusing more on my photography work, and began working downtown Vancouver doing photoshoots.

After a year I decided to take a break from school, and focus strictly on my photography business Summer Media Studios.

By Lilly Rum on Unsplash

During my break from school (which eventually became a permanent break) I realized I needed somewhere to publish my work, spread the news of my services, and display my portfolio.

So I did some research (like months, of research lol) on how to make a website, and which platform to do it on, and how to make money, and how to get that money into my bank account.

I created several websites until I finally developed one that was user friendly, mobile friendly, and client friendly.

A website that I could hand over to someone and they too could run it and make updates to it if needed. A website that looks awesome on your iPhone. A website that acts as a virtual money machine, selling your products and services while you sleep.

Now that's the goal!

My website worked wonderfully, and I started booking clients:

I shot downtown all summer, and fall. Eventually the weather cooled down and shoots started to slow. I wondered, what else can I offer?

One evening I was updating my website, doing some tweaks and thought to myself, "this is really beautiful, my design work is improving."

Once I completed the updates to my site, I sat with a tea in my hand and pondered the idea of perhaps doing the same for others; building other entrepreneurs a beautiful space to showcase their work.

It was exactly the void in my media business I was missing, I knew how to create a website, and I now had the time to do it.

I created a few test sites, and then went live...

First I offered web design to my preexisting clients I had worked with, that I knew had their own businesses or boutiques! Then I told my friends and family, and gave them all business cards to hand out for me. Finally, I reached out to new clients via upwork, fiverr, and facebook groups.

Quicker than I expected, web design became my largest income earner, surpassing the money I had made all summer. I would never give up photography (my first love) but I knew my business was taking a bit of a turn and I was excited to dive into it.

Web design is a flexible career!

I love working from home (or wherever I am that day) and often do updates on my phone. I find that the time-freedom and location-freedom allowed through this type of business is incomparable.

If you'd love to learn how to become a web designer and work for yourself, I put together a course that teaches each step you'll need to know. You can find it on my website SummerMediaStudios.com

In regards to earning an income, you can charge a design fee upfront from clients, and also provide an option to manage their site for an additional fee (I teach you how to do this!) You will also earn a recurring income from every past website you've created.

By Jp Valery on Unsplash

Your Income Potential Is Unlimited!

That's what I love about working for myself, you can earn as much as you work. You can charge your desired fees, and if you commit to owning your niche you can raise your fees over time as others see your value!

If you'd like to create your own website to showcase your work, I'd be happy to help you build out your vision. Visit my website at SummerMediaStudios.com and let me know your ideas!

Looking to learn something new and create a new income stream?

Become a Web Designer!

I'll teach you the step by step process to starting a design business and how to find clients. I also explain how I sell my web design + courses through Instagram every month.

I write about making money online, entrepreneurship, and blogging - interested? Stick around!

Follow my blog... Here!

Follow my instagram... Here!

By NordWood Themes on Unsplash

career
Like

About the Creator

Faith Summer

Hey friends, I'm Faith!

I write about all things entrepreneurship, making money online, travel guides, and encouraging YOU to leave the boring day job and do what you love!

@FaithSummerr on IG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.