Journal logo

How Do I Want to Earn My Income?

the best quiz I've ever found on the internet

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How Do I Want to Earn My Income?
Photo by Randalyn Hill on Unsplash

January 2020, I hit a breaking point. I had lost my Grandpa six weeks prior, and I was seriously questioning if teaching was still the right career choice for me ... 4 months away from finishing my teaching degree. On top of this, I had just discovered life coaching as an option, so I was considering if this was a viable career option for me.

Early on in my journey of self-discovery, I came across Cathy Heller and her Don't Keep Your Day Job website -- which includes a Passion Finder Quiz!

"I built the Passion Finder Quiz to help you figure out what creative archetype you are and open your eyes to the different paths that exist. Spend a few minutes to answer these 11 questions, and see what's possible!"

The first time I took this quiz, I got the archetype of CURATOR ... however, because I am a multi-passionate individual, I do see myself in each of these archetypes. So the question became, how do I want to earn my income?

CREATOR

Creativity is everything to me -- creativity is life. If I didn't spend at least a few minutes writing each day, I'd question what I'd done with my day. I write because I enjoy it, but I also dream of becoming a published young adult author.

How can I make money as a CREATOR? (Specifically, in this case, creating through writing.)

  • Publishing my novel(s)
  • Freelance writing for a magazine
  • Becoming a ghostwriter

Do I WANT to make money this way?

Definitely! In my early 20s, I didn't believe I could make money for doing things I was passionate about ... in fact, I refused payment for facilitating workshops because I loved it so much and saw it as "volunteering" (even though I could've made about $300 each semester I did it). Now, I ONLY want to earn money through a career that brings me joy (which is why I started my own business).

CURATOR

Curators are the people who support creators -- they bring creators together, they create events to showcase creators works ... and honestly, when I got my result, I fell in love with this idea!

How can I make money as a CURATOR?

  • Showcase talented coaches by creating a summit or retreat
  • Create a subscription box service
  • Form a membership to gather with others once a month -- maybe an elevated book club?
  • Do I WANT to make money this way?

    I have come back to each of these ideas at least once a month. I'm trying to navigate whether I can do any one of these AND coach people 1-on-1. The other idea I have, that I'm still playing with and moving forward with: creating an online/digital subscription-based magazine! ... so the answer is, yes, I do want to make money this way.

    INVESTIGATOR

    I could spend hours researching topics I have an interst in -- I love everything from reading personal development books, to watching every interview on YouTube with my favourite celebrities. I love learning new things.

    How can I make money as a INVESTIGATOR?

  • Write a personal development book, focusing on one major topic
  • Affiliate marketing -- researching and using great products by others, and sharing personal links to these products with the world
  • Become a public speaker for events about a topic of interest
  • Do I WANT to make money this way?

    Of course if it's writing a personal development book, absolutely -- again, creating! But overall, not my favourite ideas for earning money. (At least this narrows it down a bit!)

    TEACHER

    When I learn new things (through all that research I do), I also love to share it with people. I enjoy spewing random fun facts, and any opportunity to educate someone on something (if I feel I know enough about something to be accurate).

    How can I make money as a TEACHER?

  • Create an online course
  • Run a workshop or two each month
  • Run an afterschool program for teens, teaching them about personal development
  • Do I WANT to make money this way?

    I literally almost became a teacher. I was so close, I worked so hard for 3 years to get to that point ... and, ultimately, I decided teaching in the classroom setting was not the right choice for me (especially after the world turned upside down). My short-term goals are to run some workshops and maybe even create an e-course or two ... long-term, I think I'd like to focus on creating and curating.

    If you've been questioning your career lately, I highly recommend you take this quiz! Honestly, everyone should just take it for fun anyways.

    Enjoy :)

    how to
    1

    About the Creator

    Kaitlyn Dawn

    27, Canadian, she/her

    Life & Creativity Coach

    reader, writer, and lover of words

    https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.