Journal logo

Hey, Let’s Engage

Empowering people through simple words.

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Mr. Bey and I, 2017 in PTown

HeyItsEDB, that’s Erik DeSean Barrett; here with what I’d like to call, a moment of Engagement. Engage; this Middle English, French verb takes on multiple methods, IN ORDER TO present a unilateral identity. To some it occupies, involves, or attract someone's interest or attention; TO OTHERS It establishes meaningful connection; And THEN, it pledges to achieve a task or goal.

I know all about engagement. It has been my life’s work, stemming back farther than I’ve really processed. I came up around the classical Pentecost movement. Even though I am a child of the 80s, aka a Regan Baby, I was connected to the tail end of the original black struggle. Most classical Pentecostals were the poorest of the poor. They were identified by the sophisticated as persons doing Days Work. They had no connection with the Doctors, that was First Baptist, Bute Street, the High Indian chiefs, that was Covenant Presbyterian. No, these people were stuck in old convenient store buildings, or acquiring space in strip malls. Most of their members didn’t vote, and the one who did had not true understanding of why.

I was fortune. Even though black, still privileged. I was afforded the finest things in life. Went to the best schools, camps, and sat in the presence of the best minds, this side the Mason Dixon line.

WHICH MORE I THINK ABOUT IT…

Pisses Me Off. See it bothered me, how life’s most precious gift, had somehow been manipulated away for the masses. How the fundamental principle of Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of happiness; an ideal the founding fathers prescribed to all who call these states united home was, and sadly still is being highjacked by those who choose power over people; self interest of community.

Earlier last week, I posted on Facebook. I hate posting on Facebook, as a matter of fact, I was only there because one of my best friends just had a baby, and he wanted me to see the pictures. But me, being me, I had to take moment, while I was proverbially in town to poke the bear. My post was

One who knows who they are, and needs no one to feed them is a dangerous individual

Someone decided to add, bless their hearts.. It's good to know who we are, but we are part of a community so we do need each other also. I agree with this moment of thought, but at the same time completely disagree. For generations now some have made it their life’s work, their mission statement If you please, to promote, and defend the idea of world unity. I am sure one day, when the roll is called up yonder, we mere mortals once transformed will find away to become one mind, but until then this is what we have.

We have politicians, who are more interested in having their name in lights, than their people in empowered. In the 2023 election cycle. I ran for Norfolk City Council. A move that has haunted me ever since. It has in many ways put a damper on my ability to operate, in the eyes of some soiled my credibility, and to my adversaries, embolden their quest to see me destroyed.

WHICH AGAIN.. Pisses Me OFF….

And if I may, I would like to submit, why I believe it should piss you off too. So again you have this privileged boy; who for the most part, put an entire election on his uncle’s credit card, and the part he didn’t came from his extremely well off WHITE FRIENDS; all believing I was just doing my best to engage my COMMUNITY.

In 2017, I met a civil right stallion named Mr. Bey. We at the time were staring down the barrel of an uprising of confederate ideals, attached to the emblem known as white supremacy. Mr. Bey informed me of how to not only fight against this resurgence of racism, but how to obtain access, and the ability to ENGAGE our people. I took that info, went to the Westside of NFK, where I MEAT then freshman councilwoman Andria McClellan. Are you really interested in the contents of that exchange, because it get really ratchet from here. Actually for the sake of time, and your patience, I will just say our relationship caused such fuss amongst the few, that the word around town was

Erik is Andrias BOY!!

Now you and I can agree, that wasn’t nice, but apart from that what do we gain post that exchange? Two extremely privileged individuals being ridiculed because they wanted to use their talents and resources to make the world better? Two people who read somewhere in that popular book the people of sophistication love to tote around;

to whom much is given, much is required?

And somehow we are the bad people? Now I get it.. Some after reading this will draw the conclusion, that I am just a disgruntled negro who lost an election to the pretty boy. Which by the way is not true, as I lost the election to the old man, and the enigma of Benjamin Franklin.

But despite all of that, I lost, and returned home to be a private citizen, and the chair obtained a new booty warmer, but the people are still being screwed.

Which brings us to the next installment of the silly season. In just a few, we will cast out ballots for house and senate here in VA. Let’s table to delegate race for now, we can chat about that latter if you want, but for me presently the state senate race is super significant.

This race, in my strong belief will come down to whose vision we believe is best. Most will, behind my back of course call BULL. They will attempt to convince you, I am Team Andria to the bone… After all, I’m her BOY right? But let’s set the record straight. Delegate Angelia Williams Graves and I too have formed a very strong bond. I have been on many occasions the voice heard through her car speakers during those long trips back and forth the Richmond. We’ve discussed policy, broken down political options, sometimes into the deep darkest hours of the night. I rode shotgun (virtually) through the (drive thru), stood guard (virtually) while she late night pumped gas, all to soak from her vast knowledge of state policy, and the manipulation of same. That is a gift to me from Mrs. Angelia Williams-Graves, and I will NEVER take that away from her.. So when I say, it will come down to the will of the people, it will come down to the will of the people…

But they are only two people, trying to approach the world from a whole new view. That brings us back here to NFK. I lost the election. I accept that, I was defeated, not destroyed, I was sidelined, not silenced. The only thing loosing the election means , at least for now, is I won’t get a nice piece of cash from the piggy bank of nfk, nor when I die get my coffin draped with the flag bearing the same name, again my going home was by choice, and the people seeking my help with issues is same. There is no law stating I cannot serve as an advocate for the people, which means no politician has the right to attempt to silence, bully, or manipulate my efforts.

This is not about who’s name is attached to the wall of city hall, nor who’s ass is connected to a wingback on rollers, but about whoever hungers, and thirst, and seeks to Engage the right for liberty, and Justice, for ALL…

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.