Journal logo

“Hello, World"

This is not a new programming language, I’m just saying Hi.

By Kamel BadarPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2
“Hello, World"
Photo by KOBU Agency on Unsplash

Dear human, welcome to my blog!

This nerdy headline might have frightened a few of you but for those who are still here, I will be more than happy to introduce myself and what my blog will be about.

Here are my 3 different careers at 26

International Relations

After obtaining my high school diploma in France (like Tour Eiffel), I really wanted to strengthen my English.

That's why I joined my local uni to study languages and business. I had classes taught in French, English, and Spanish to develop my language skills as well as my knowledge of marketing, commerce, and economics.

3 years later, I had to choose a Master's degree to pursue. Since I wanted to keep studying in English language, I stayed at my university and chose the International Relations program. At this time of my life, I wanted to be a researcher in Geopolitics so it fitted well since I could then integrate a PhD program.

After two challenging years of classes during the COVID lockdown, I finally graduated!

No more school for me, I will be able to join a PhD program !

Well, not exactly...

Research in Social Sciences

After obtaining my Master's degree, I changed my mind.

I thought it was not time yet for me to pursue a PhD and that I needed to try getting work experience before.

Since I had 2 internships opportunities as a research assistant during my Master's years, I already had good work experience in the field and even co-wrote a scientific article and a book that is still to be published.

Thanks to these experiences, I found a job as a research project management officer.

I worked in an organization that supported local researchers by funding their projects and providing services such as project engineering and networking opportunities.

This was fun.

Until I discovered something that changed my life : the power of Data.

Falling in love with Data

During my work experience in the research field, I had the opportunity to discover the power of data and the value you can extract from its analysis.

Research needs quantitative and qualitative studies that require different kinds of data so it was the perfect playground for me.

And the more I was digging into Data Analysis, the more convinced I was about starting a new career.

In data, I saw the crossroads of everything I did earlier and liked:

  • Research and investigation
  • Handling business stakes
  • Managing a project
  • Recommendations to managers or clients

For all those reasons, I decided to seize my opportunity and enter this new world.

Going back to school and working as a Data Analyst

By Carlos Muza on Unsplash

After I decided to switch careers, I learned the Data Analyst job for 1 year through online certificates.

Then, I acknowledged the fact that I would need a better education to find a job in this field since my previous degrees were not related to data.

So I decided to go back to school and joined a part-time business school program delivering a Master's degree in Data and Marketing.

The particularity of this kind of program is that you have to find a company that hires you for a year and pays your tuition.

You stay with them for 3 weeks per month and you have 1 week at school.

Perfect way to gain experience I thought.

This led me to my current position as a Data Analyst in the aeronautics field for a world-leading French group.

My countless points of interest

I decided to start a blog to share my thoughts with you.

I’m passionate about learning in general. I would often read the most random stuff ever just because it popped up on my screen.

That being said you’ve probably figured out that I have a lot of interests. But to sum up, my blog will mostly be about :

  • Technology
  • Business
  • Learning

I’ve got a goal here on Vocal

This objective is simple and clear: sharing content that pleases you and brings you useful insights or new ideas on topics where I feel relevant.

And you, what is your goal here?

What is your background?

I would really appreciate your engagement and be glad to answer all your comments.

If you feel at least 10% convinced by this presentation (that’s the selection criteria), I will also be glad to welcome you as a new follower so that you won’t miss my articles!

See you soon 👋

Vocalcareerbusiness
2

About the Creator

Kamel Badar

Just a data nerd with a background in social science research wanting to share cool stuff.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.