Journal logo

Gifts From Co-Workers When On Leave Fighting Cancer!

Kind, giving, caring and sharing co-workers are the best!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Gifts From Co-Workers When On Leave Fighting Cancer!
Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

I had just started work when a co-worker began telling me how she asks for forgiveness rather than permission as she gets more done that way! Then she said, oh, I suppose I shouldn't have told my new supervisor that. She was doing her best to orient me to working for the state. We laughed!

It is a good thing to laugh and even after 15+ years and we are both retired we can laugh at that! Now that I am not her boss, it is way easier to laugh at those comments. I told her the other day that the comment worked for me then and has worked for me since then as well and I thanked her for it!

What nice and thoughtful gifts I received from co-workers throughout my time working, not to mention the gift I received when I was out of work due to cancer. Then, I got my full paycheck for most of my time off as many people donated their time to support this benefit.

In July of 2013, I received a care package from my work family. I had just completed chemotherapy and was showing no more signs of cancer.

A co-worker brought me a gift from the staff. A poetry book and the poems in the book were all very nice and thoughtful! And another journal to think about them whenever I use it. I loved the scented candle from Pier One and the beautiful gift bag that it came in.

The Mary Kay and the card were wonderful, and I could tell they knew me as I especially loved the lip colors! They were my colors!

I enjoyed the dark chocolate hot cocoa and I ate the other dark chocolate fast. My favorite! And dark chocolate is good for you and healthy right? The Bath and Bodywork bath and body lotion got used as I love that store.

Then my granddaughter worked at Caribou and I definitely spent too much time there and used the gift card pretty quickly!

The smiley-faced flower I see every morning when I wake up. I thought it would be a great way to start my day with a smile.

I love the Dalai Lama book. He was my Facebook friend and I think he is so wise! I love reading what he has to say.

One Day At A Time is one of my favorites and how I live my life!

And last but not least I loved the lemon verbena gardeners soap! I used that!

The scattering garden was beautiful that fall and summer!

Miigwech Nibawa/Thank you very much!

To The People I Love And Appreciate

I love the people I worked with most everyday

They are the most thoughtful people on a sick day

I knew it would take a while to mend

I didn't think it would be so long to get back to attend

to my job and my family and the people I owe

I wasn't even ready to ride the mower to mow

Recuperating is difficult for some and I was one

I thought it would be a few treatments and I would be done

But no, it wasn't like that at all, not that easy or small

My co-workers did a nice job without me in the winter and spring

Summer, I was back, but I was wondering about fall

Treatable not curable was what I was told that's all

So patient and kind, doing my job and holding it open to bring

me back to do the job I was hired for. I had fears I couldn't do it.

But they knew I could and maybe I worried for naught as I could sit

at a desk, or in the car or at the office, and who can't do that.

I knew most of the folks I would work with and I had a hat

for when my hair wasn't growing fast enough, then there were wigs.

Anyway, when going back to work I was ready to do jigs.

Happy to get back to co-workers and to work side by side

with the best of them. I could go to White Earth, Leech Lake on a ride

and Red Lake and St. Paul could wait for a later date.

Thanks to all of you! You are all my favorite teammate!

career
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.