Journal logo

A Bit About Me

Aniin ashi ayayan, Waagosh bimibatood indizhinikaz, makwa indoodem, Gawababiganikag indonzhiba

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
17
Most recent photo 2021

My introduction at the top is in the Ojibwe language. I am an Anishinabe (Native American) woman from Minnesota. I said "Hi, how are you, my name is running fox with the stars (it is an abbreviated name and the stars is all of you), I am bear clan, I am from the White Earth Nation." I am not a fluent speaker but grew up to know that there were basics that we could use in an introduction. I was enrolled at White Earth, removal Fond du Lac. I am an elder in my tribal community since approximately age 55. I am 67 now, and will be 68 in January of 2022. I am a woman in long term recovery and what that means for me is that I have not used drugs or alcohol in 41 years.

I grew up with four siblings, three brothers and a sister. My mother gave us a baby brother after I was already married. My sister died of Leukemia in 2010. Our baby brother died of Covid in March of 2021.

My 4 brothers and I. Our baby brother is in the top row, left.
My baby boy and his baby girl, soon to be two years old in December 2021.

My first husband and I had our children when I was 21 and 24. My baby quit breathing at one month and I was told they thought he had sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). He had a cousin that had died from that diagnosis. I prayed and begged to not have my baby die. My baby lived and I got recovery.

Recovery has ripple effects. No hugger before recovery, now a family of huggers. It has positive consequences for most involved. Out of seven children, we have two in recovery with us. Two don't talk about using with us but it appears they don't. Two, who knows but I think we would by now. One we worry about. Time will tell, I guess.

John and his oldest son.
Me, John and his youngest daughter.

With my current husband, John, we have 7 children, 25 grandchildren and 9 great grandchildren. Our youngest granddaughter will be 2 years old in December 2021. Our youngest great grandson is 2 weeks old, born just before Thanksgiving 2021. John is my third husband. My first husband died from his addiction. I have a stepson that I have known since he was 12 years old. He accepted my children as his sister and brother immediately and they accepted him immediately also. John has 4 children.

I retired in 2016, from the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, American Indian Section, State of Minnesota. I continue to work part-time as a culture consultant, and a community faculty. I have a bachelors degree in counseling, a masters degree in counseling and All But Dissertation (ABD), toward a doctorate in Education Policy and Administration. I worked since 1984 in counseling/therapy, and in 1997, I moved into director positions, program coordination, supervision and prevention and treatment consultant.

I love spending time with family and friends. I enjoy my culture and there has been a lot of story telling in my life. It has helped me in my recovery. I learned what I enjoy doing in early recovery, much of what I didn't know until I found recovery. I ride a motorcycle, 4 wheeler and have always had a vehicle. I love camping, and especially in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA). I like to golf. I like movies, and date night with the hubby. I prefer going out to eat rather than cooking. I am so grateful for the woman I am today and for my marriage to someone in long term recovery also. Reading and writing is what I am doing for fun and entertainment today. I have always been a reader. Because I am reading text books, I listen to books on tape when riding in the car and in that way, I still get to enjoy reading. Text books aren't always fun!

I think this has given you a bit about me and my life. If you are interested in more, subscribe and read my published stories. Miigwech/Thank you!

list
17

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    Wonderful reading about your very full, life journey! I loved your photos & greeting in Ojibwe language. When I was still in High School (1970s), I was given the book "Crying Wind", which I loved...it's still on my bookshelf... I must reread it!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    You are a very accomplished woman and worthy of respect! I love your term, "long term recovery." I lost a beautiful granddaughter to a heroin overdose and have family members still in addiction. I am forever on my knees in prayer for their recovery. I wrote this awhile back: https://vocal.media/poets/to-my-son-941ktp0atd

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Wow. Just wow. You must be so proud of your amazing life, your recovery, your family. What a privilege to have read this and to know just a slice of your life. I so look forward to exploring your stories! 💜

  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    Your story is inspiring in so many ways. Thanks for sharing 😊🙏 it.

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this!❤️ In my area there is a huge problem with drug use, it’s slowly stealing away so many people in many ways 😩

  • Glammy Girl11 months ago

    You are such a lovely person 🥰💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.