Journal logo

Getting Paid to Sit in Front of the Best Seats Money Can Buy

The Entertainment World

By D.J. GallacherPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Two Games, One Day, One Venue

I remember as a teenager, standing in line all day to watch the recording of the Tonight Show with Jay Leno. The tickets were free, but we wanted those front-row seats, so we got in line early. I remember watching the crew work, thinking they had the best jobs in the world, but for some reason, I felt a gig like that was unattainable for someone like me. Thankfully, my preconceived notions of what was attainable for me were nothing less than sheer ignorance. Ten years later, an opportunity to get into sports television presented itself, and I took it.

My first gig was for ESPN, doing the Western Regional Little League World Series in San Bernardino, California. The funny thing was, no one hired me. My girlfriend's dad, a camera operator for ESPN, told me to shadow the Utilities. (To "shadow" means to come in without pay to learn a craft). To my surprise, the Director appreciated how hard I worked and saw to it that I got paid.

So, what does a Utility do? A small part of what they do, which is the part that pertains to this article, is that they're responsible for running the cables to the cameras. However, when it's a handheld camera, the utility will wrangle the cable as the cameraman runs around the court or the field.

In other words, a utility sits in front of the best seat money can buy. For the NBA, I sat on the court right behind my cameraman. For College Football or the NFL, we work on the sidelines. For Soccer, the same thing, right on the field watching the game. Beach Volleyball, in the sand right by the net; Boxing, elbows on the ring making sure the cameraman doesn't step off when the fighters come right at him; UFC, elbows on the Octagon and then into the Octagon after the fight. The list goes on and on. As long as there is a cameraman upfront, we are right behind him.

Shaq on the Right, My Cameraman on the Left

Clippers

UCLA

Utilities also work on entertainment shows. Working at a concert, we're either on the stage or in front of the stage. Working an Award Show, we could be on the side of the stage, in front of the stage, walking the winners to the stage, or we could be backstage. Working Red Carpet events, we could be on the red carpet or off to the side doing interviews. And, of course, coming full circle, working in a Studio. While I never had the opportunity to work on The Tonight Show, I have worked on other late-night Talk Shows, as well as game shows.

One of the most significant advantages we have in this industry is our ability to move up to different positions. Since 2005, I've been a Utility, Production Assistant, Camera Operator, Audio Technician, and Video Controller. However, as a Utility, some of my all-time favorite moments would be working the 2009 and 2010 NBA Finals.

Kobe and the Lakers won both years, and I worked every home game of the Finals. Sitting on the court surrounded by over 19,000 diehard Laker fans was absolutely amazing. When Kobe had the ball, I'd hold my breath in anticipation. Exhaling as the ball went through the hoop. I could feel the endorphins running rapidly throughout my body while the arena erupted with cheers. I can't tell you how many times I thought, "And I'm getting paid for this!"

Then we would run out onto the court to walk the players off during time-outs. I'd be standing just outside their huddles, trying to listen in, completely submerged in the moment. It's those experiences I'll hold onto forever.

2009 Finals Pre Game

2009 Laker Parade Celebration

So, what makes my job important?

The short answer is, although I'm just a link in the chain, as a whole, we work hard to provide coverage of some of the most significant moments in sports. Games like the NBA Finals, or the Stanley Cup, are huge events. They're huge events because they are important to millions of fans around the world. Fans who work hard all day, looking forward to the moment they can sit down and watch their teams play at the highest level.

Sadly, the moment where I had an overwhelming feeling of purpose, a feeling of "What we're doing really matters," was in January 2020. If you don't know what I'm talking about, it was when a helicopter crashed, killing nine people.

We went from working 10 hour days to 12 to 16 hour days, as every game or event we did, was built up to monumental proportions. It didn't matter if it were for an NBA game, an NHL game, or a special event; every show added more cameras as we covered the thousands and thousands of fans who created a memorial across the street at LA Live.

The first show I did that week was for TNT on the 28th. They did a Studio show in an empty Staples Center arena, where Shaq, Charles, Kenny, Ernie, and Dwayne Wade talked about their experiences with Kobe and Kobe's effect on them.

Setting up, January 28th

24 on the Shot Clock

Then there was the first Laker home game after Kobe's passing. I was setting up for the game, plugging in cables at a panel, when suddenly I heard someone behind me singing. I turned over my right shoulder, and standing about ten feet behind me was Usher rehearsing "Amazing Grace." I turned back to the panel but didn't continue working. Instead, I bowed my head, closed my eyes, and just absorbed the moment, feeling the power of his heartfelt voice as the hairs on my neck stood up.

I worked every event at Staples that week, including the Celebration of life, and I can honestly say I don't think I'll ever do another show that meant as much to the millions of heart-heavy fans all over the world. I was honored to be a part of it.

I've grown a lot in these last 16 years. The most important lesson I've learned is not to put limits on myself. As a teenager, I didn't think I would ever have a job in television, and yet, here I am. My career exists because of the people who wouldn't be held back by the limitations society puts on most of us. Whether it's a pro athlete, a poker player, a comedian, an artist, a musician, or a Youtuber, they made it happen. They worked hard and followed their dreams.

Kobe Bryant

2020 Champs

career

About the Creator

D.J. Gallacher

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    D.J. GallacherWritten by D.J. Gallacher

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.