Journal logo

FREEDOM. The freedom to identify as me myself and I and not who society says I am

Free at last

By Stephanysays.blogPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

2019 was probably the rockiest year of my life with numerous ups and downs. After an abusive relationship, experiencing homelessness, and substance abuse somehow, I came into myself. I learned from every mistake, I adapted and overcame every obstacle gracefully, I learned what was truly important to me and what wasn’t. I found my independence and I learned skills and found a strength in myself I never knew I had, I grew as a person and a woman. I grew pride in myself and confidence in who I was. I became a better person. I gained respect for myself for remaining true to the values I have and never crossing limits just because things were rough. I grew so much pride in my character and my capabilities. I learned that just because I was making a few mistakes I was still the same caring, helpful, responsible honest person I’ve always been. I was living on the street I was a drug addict, and I was still so confident in the person and woman I was that no one’s opinion bothered me. No one’s comments or judgement was any of my business. In an environment like the one I was living in its easy to succumb to the ugly all around you. After being lied to, taken advantage of, physically and mentally abused, stolen from, amongst other things. No matter how hard it is keep the ugly, the resentment, the hatred the anger and any other negative energy out of your heart. If your good natured at heart remain good natured. Keep helping people, keep loving people, because if someone is taking advantage of you while you’re helping or giving to them from a genuine place in your heart then it’s not your problem. It’s their problem and karma will serve them accordingly. Nothing wrong can come from you doing anything from a good pace in your heart. When you know who you are, and you know your core values and you know your character no one can tell you otherwise and it is the best sense of freedom that you will ever experience. You gain a confidence in yourself and insecurities you had, and self-doubt disappear, I promise. If I die with nothing to show for it, I don’t care because I’ll know I was good to people and that’s the most important thing in the world to me!

The freedom to write what I please and say what I please. The freedom of speech!

I am Free in my spirit and my mind. I am free from societies opinion and judgements and remarks of who they say I am, what they think I am, and what they think I should be. I am free. I am free from insecurities because I know who I am, and she is beautiful. I am free from evil and hate because I am full of love and empathy. I am free from the distractions of everyday life, so I see. I see the dying planet, I see the extinct animals, I see humanity and its fate, I see the mockery in the white man’s eyes, and I feel the hatred in the black man’s heart. I share the weight on the Latin man’s back and I hear the fear in the Asian man’s voice. I am free of judgement for these men because they carry years of stereotypes and mixed messages and learned patterns that told them who they were who they will be and hate who they will love if they are smart or capable if they can or they can’t, but I hope one day they are all set free. I am free of self-hatred and limitations because I can be anyone or anything I want; I am free of uniforms or styles.so I dance to the beat of my own drum. I am free of definitions. I am me; I am free of life’s imprisonment of work, bills, rules, and regulations, I am free from deadlines and alarms bedtimes and breakfast. I can wake with the moon and sleep with the sun if it’s my heart’s desire. Freedom is living your life exactly how you want everyday confidently in your own skins with no care in the world about what other people think of you, Freedom is confidence in knowing who you are as a person. When you find yourself and gain an understanding of who you are as a person and what’s important to you it is the surest sense of freedom you will ever feel

humanity
1

About the Creator

Stephanysays.blog

I am an aspiring freelance writer and currently an undergraduate pursing my associates degree in Liberal Arts and Humanities. I just want to change the world and make it a better place; I have 6 dogs. I love ART!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.