Journal logo

Don't Forget - You Are Important Too!

A Lesson I Must Constantly Remind Myself Of

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 10 months ago 3 min read
1

I often think about things on a Large scale, likely much larger than most people realize.

My mind doesn't only think about the 8 billion lives living on the planet right now, I also think about the tens of billions who will be born over the next decades, and the estimated 10.5 billion lives by the year 2100.

I want to live to (at least) the year 2100 and continue to impact others, which is why I think at this level.

When you think about things on that type of scale, your mind can forget many things.

For instance, we all have challenges in our lives.

However, what is the point of caring about my tiny problem in the face of the problems impacting billions of people?

The truth is, your "tiny" problem can actually be a bigger issue than you are making it out to be.

Sure, it may not "feel" important in comparison to other issues, however, YOU are important too!

I forget this very often in my own life.

See, if you "truly" want to impact at that level, your health is extremely important.

That "tiny" problem may not feel or look like much, but all Stress adds together.

If you allow enough "tiny" problems to enter your life, without taking care of yourself and what you need, you will break down.

Instead of impacting generations of people, you won't even be able to positively impact those closest to you.

All Stress Adds.

If you want to be able to support more people, you HAVE to take care of yourself.

You have needs and desires that matter.

They may seem "silly" or "tiny" in comparison to many other things, but that doesn't make the invalid.

Your needs and desires are valid, and you must attend to them if you are to live a good life.

The larger your goals and the more people you choose to help as a Leader, the more diligent you need to be to yourself.

Adding the stress of 1 on top of yourself can be a lot.

Adding the stress of 10 on yourself is more difficult.

Adding the stress of Billions is a monumental challenge.

Are "You" treating yourself as important within all of that?

I know that I could do better myself, and this is something I have been working on.

We all feel stress in our lives, make sure to attend to them.

Understand what those stresses are, learn what they are telling you, and build plans to help you with them.

Have you recovered from your stresses?

Sleep is important, diet is important, our breathing is important, our HRV is important, movement is important, clearing our minds is important, and living into our values is important.

Have you done these?

Are you tracking your progress?

Most people "think" they are doing well... until they break down and realize that something must have been missing.

I know that happened to me.

I thought I was doing a lot of things correctly, working out, meditating, fixing my diet, and working on breathing.

Yet I still broke down.

I wasn't tracking the right things, I was missing extremely important aspects that were hidden deep in the scientific literature.

I took many things for granted, thinking just because I was doing better than "most" that I was doing great.

But unfortunately, "most" people are extremely sick and broken in our society today.

Being better than the "average" honestly isn't that good, sadly.

I wasn't as good as I thought, and I was taking on more stress than I could handle.

I broke, and have had to rebuild.

Even in light of all of that, I still sometimes forget that I am important too.

On the path to becoming a better Leader, you must remember that YOU are an important part of everything.

workflowindustryhumanityhow tohistorycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.