Journal logo

Do some of you actually prefer reading here on vocal instead of an actual book?

I'm just curious...

By Mahonry FrancoPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Do some of you actually prefer reading here on vocal instead of an actual book?
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

What is better? Vocal or an actual book.

A long time ago I started writing on this platform because I wanted to strengthen my writing ability to eventually become a published author. And looking back at the stories that I wrote here, I straight up feel like I was simply writing to be read rather than being intentional about the whole thing. In a book, the author has a purpose for creating the story and the reader has a purpose for reading it. But here on vocal, I never knew what I was going to write, and when I finally decided on a topic I remember pushing myself to create content out of the blue even though I had no genuine motivation to write said topic. The purpose was simply not there. Thus making each story hard to write, long to make, and frustrating to work with. It was a draining experience. Some of the stories I wrote even make me cringe to this day because of how bad they actually are! So I stopped writing and pursued other things. Nonetheless, I came back 2 years later, because I still have the goal to become a published author. And I still want to improve my writing abilities to best convey what I think is important through storytelling. So I'm switching gears and plan to take a different approach.

The different approach

Yes, some of my work 2 years ago made me cringe. But on the other hand, some of the stories I made weren't all that bad. And I liked them because they were real and overall helped me become a better person. Like:

  • 5 things I learned from reading 1 book a week

or

They had a purpose and it was intentional work. Therefore my new approach will be to just write what I genuinely love, which is real experiences, to keep that element of authenticity and purpose in everything I create. I plan to live life, write about the true events that occur, learn from them, and repeat the whole process. Kind of like a journal where I get to reflect and learn to become a better human, but in a way that invites you along the journey with me :) That I believe is worth writing about.

My favorite movie directors share their stories in the best way they know how and the impact they've had on me has been monumental. Same with the stories I've heard from my teachers, friends, strangers, and random videos I watch on youtube. They all, in some way, taught me something. So why not do the same with these stories I'm writing? After all, it's one of the best ways I know how... So every day I'll try to write something meaningful. To better improve my skillset as a writer and to hopefully take you on a journey to teach you something at the same time. I don't know how many will read this, but who cares, at least I'm proud of the things I am making and I am no longer feeling like writing here on vocal is a draining experience.

What now?

I don't know if there is some type of way to connect with you (my readers) but if there is let me know. I always love hearing your feedback to learn how to become a better writer and overall storyteller. If you want to roast me go ahead and roast me. Additionally, I am also experimenting with story-showing by making youtube videos. So if you want to check that out you totally can! And uhh... feel free to subscribe.

social medialiteraturehumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Mahonry Franco

Experience, learn, share, repeat. To me, Vocal is a journal to do exactly that.

Youtube Channel: Mahonry Franco

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.