Journal logo

Did You Read My Story?

The Benefits of The Facebook Vocal Groups Allied To Vocal Insights and Vocal Comments

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
9
Creation

Introduction

These are just some observations on how we see people who support us. When I started on Vocal there was no way to know who had read your stories or what they thought of your writing. I was getting very few reads on my Vocal stories until I found the Vocal Groups on Facebook and that is when things actually kicked off, in a good way.

This article may contain observations and ideas from previous posts of mine and I apologise for that, but hopefully, it is actually a useful read for you and gives you some ideas.

The Facebook Vocal Groups

When I found some of these on Facebook I saw people sharing stories and I started to share mine. People commented on my stories and that showed me that someone was interested in what I had to say.

This was fine and then I actually got two one-dollar tips and they were what made me believe I could write and be appreciated. I have said this several times before but a small tip can have a huge impact on someone’s creative confidence.

However, the only way you were certain that someone had read your story was if they left a comment on Facebook. The heart option could be left by Vocal Members and the benefit of the Vocal platform is that anyone can read your story but only Vocal members could leave a heart.

The thing is reads should always be equal to or more than the number of hearts on a story, but Vocal’s atrocious reporting often shows pieces with many more hearts than reads. This could possibly be caused by people dropping in, hearting but not actually reading, but I am sure that most Vocal+ users will actually read the articles, I personally think it's a reporting issue.

Vocal Insights

This was trumpeted as a major addition from Vocal but insights could only be added from predetermined selections from tick-boxed categories, really they are a sort of super heart, but again you don’t really know who left that score unless they added a comment on Facebook. So this gave a little extra, but the heart is the only score that shows up on your stats.

I do find it nice when someone has put insights on my story but I only know who that is is there is one comment or they told me on Facebook.

Vocal Comments

When this was first introduced I was worried it would hit the commenting on the Facebook groups but it doesn’t seem to have had a negative effect. One of the benefits is that if people discover your story on Vocal or a non-Facebook platform such as Pinterest or Twitter, they can leave a comment and you can link back to them to see what their creations are like.

And this is where the title of this piece hit.

Now because you can leave a comment on the Vocal story people now have proof that you have read i and that they have read yours. Several people have told me that they have read my work, but they could not tell me anything about the story and there was no comment from them so my assumption is that they didn’t really read it.

This is a little sad because it makes you not trust people sometimes. I always try to read articles and leave feedback, but if I don’t read something I don’t leave a heart to give the creator a false sense of success.

And the thing is, now, if they don’t leave a comment then it looks like they have not read your story. It is a form of reciprocal proof of reading and I often copy my comment and post it on Facebook so the creator is in no doubt that I have read their piece.

There are many creators who seem to think that they can just expect others to read their stories without reciprocation, and when they are confronted they are adamant that they read other people’s work, but again without comments, it looks like one-way traffic.

Conclusion

The combination of Facebook Groups, Twitter (and other platforms) plus the Vocal Insights and Comments means we are digitally much closer connected and we know who reads and reciprocates and who just takes.

Be with the ones who reciprocate, because that is how be build these Vocal Facebook communities which in turn benefits us financially.

Some of My Favourite Vocal Facebook Groups

advicecriminalsfeaturesocial media
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Natasja Rose2 years ago

    I think the "reads" are measured by how long each visitor spends on the story. Which creates problems when you have fast readers who don't spend as much time on the page, or with things like poems, which can be read in less time than the algorithm takes to count it as a 'read'.

  • Yes, I'm so grateful for the comments because now I actually know that they've read my story rather than me questioning it. This was very well written!

  • I don't mind when I read someones stories without reciprocation. I'm just happy to give someone a read. On the total amount of hearts vs reads. It's kind of a funny thing. The hearts populate in live time yet the views are calculated at the end of a 24 hour cycle. So, if your poem/story is published at 3pm and the calculating cycle ends at 8 pm and stats are updated by 9 pm and you finally view the update at 10 pm. You will be viewing a five hour windw of reads from 3pm to 8pm. And since the hearts are automatically updated by the minute in live time you are going to have seven hours tracked on the hearts. Which means on day one you are almost always going to have more hearts than reads and most likely the same with day two. However by day three I find it is usually balanced out and the reads outnumber the hearts. I would say if you are at day five and still have more hearts than there is a problem.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    An excellent article on this subject, Mike!

  • Seems like it is the same 5 or 6 people who do all the reading and commenting. I realize that people don't always have time, depending on their day or week. And sometimes I see a large number of people posting , and nobody is reading their work. It is discouraging.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    I absolutely agree, Mike! (But you know that) I will be doing my part to be more "giver" than "taker!" 🌺💕🌟

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    This paragraph just hits home! "There are many creators who seem to think that they can just expect others to read their stories without reciprocation, and when they are confronted they are adamant that they read other people’s work, but again without comments, it looks like one-way traffic."!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.