Journal logo

Did You Make It Yet?

The Challenges of Feeling "Set"

By George GomezPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like
Did You Make It Yet?
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Normally, I use Vocal as a way to talk about the things I like. My posts are usually just reviews about albums, films, TV shows and sometimes books. Though the things I like are very personal to me, very rarely do I talk about something that affects me, something that's prevalent in my everyday life.

When 2021 came around, I decided not to be afraid to talk about what I like. 2022 was so busy and full of life changes that I didn't care to really listen to myself. Now that we are well into 2023, I now realize I'm really in this stupid game we call life.

This is will just be some pointers for people looking to switch careers. Although it is more geared to those trying to break into the entertainment/creative industries, I feel like this could be applied to almost anyone. These are all just really simple pointers. You mind find, however, that the simplest things can hit the hardest.

1. Be prepared for the questions!

What I mean by this is that, more than likely, you'll get bombarded with questions ranging from "Did you think this through?" to "How are you going to make money?" to "Are you going to move closer to LA?". To be fair, these are all valid questions and I'm sure the people asking these will be trusted close ones, friends and family. But their questions might only help fester your own self-doubts. I know it did for me.

My advice is to have an outline of plan. Why an outline? Because life "plans" never go accordingly. Have a department in mind to work towards and do your proper research. You want to get into music engineering? See what programs professionals use, what schools are teaching and things of that nature. Of course, we would all love to be able to start on our dream project. But the world doesn't work like that. Have some ideas in mind and don't be afraid to go into a similar field. You may take some detours but never lose sight of your ultimate goal.

2. Save your money, homie!

This is very simple but it goes a long way. Understand that you will have dry spells when it comes to work. In the world of TV & film (even commercials), most productions do not work from the holidays of Thanksgiving to New Year's. People go on vacations and work is just scarce all around. I've personally talked to people who have been in the industry 15+ years (some are even in unions!) and they still worry about how they'll make it through those weeks. But this can be applied to any creative field or business. Sometimes you won't get commissioned, sometimes no one will want to book, and sometimes you might have to work the side hustle. Budget a bit and watch your pockets!

3. Work on your craft on your own time.

Now to be fair, most people don't have this problem. Creative people will always find a way to be creative. But there is a difference between just killing time and trying to improve your skills. There's a difference between doing a hobby and pursing a passion.

Let's take a look at artists. You might finish a commission that you were proud of, but there is always room for improvement. Maybe the lines weren't as clean as they could've been. Maybe the shading wasn't as smooth as you had hoped for. If you don't take the time to hone in on what you need to improve, how will you ever get better? In turn, are you trying to get better and are you taking this path as serious as you should be? Self-doubt is a b***h but there may be some truth in there, somewhere.

4. Find your own version of success!

When you read or hear the word "success", what comes to mind? Is it a giant mansion with 6 cars? Is it seeing your work in a gallery/museum? Or is it that award in your hand and celebrating at the big gala?

Whatever idea you have for "success" in your head, keep it. Don't let anyone else define that goal for you. Some people's goals will be different from yours and recognizing that can save a lot of pain in the long run. They also may be similar. Now, I'll be honest, I can admit that seeing other people achieve their success before me hurts. I get envious and start to ponder on what more I need to do. To be fair, there's a lot of different factors that may come in to play with this. It could gender, wealth, or race. It really is just a multitude of things. But I wholeheartedly believe that everyone have does that one (maybe not so literal) opportunity; they just have to be ready for it when it comes.

Your journey is not their journey. If we wholeheartedly believe we are unique individuals, then why do we constantly think our lives will pan out the same as another's?

5. BE YOURSELF.

Do I need to explain further? No one likes inauthenticity. You'll find that more often that not, if you just be you, you'll find that doors will open regardless.

All I can add is that it's better to be yourself than to keep up a façade of what you're not.

What Next?

Though I do have my target audience in mind, I believe a lot of this can be applied to different people in different fields.

I'm also self-aware. A lot of this stuff I am still working on to this day. I always know I can improve my writing, budgeting has never been my forte, and sometimes I stumble on people's poignant questions.

You might hit rock bottom. Believe me, I'm either there now or just left it. That doesn't mean there isn't something that can't be done. And that doesn't mean that rock bottom will last.

**Thank you for taking the time out of your day to read this! I appreciate you deeply and fondly! Don't forget to tip your local writer!**

quotesindustryhumanitycareeradvice
Like

About the Creator

George Gomez

Screenwriter first, Mexican-American second, Trying to change the world with my words third.

www.gutsfilms.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.