Journal logo

DejaVu

Is it real or just a glitch in the matrix?

By Elizabeth BrownPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
DejaVu

The above image is not mine and I have given credit to where it came from at the bottom of this article....

As I'm sitting here watching the director's cut of Hell House LLC (which, btw, I am enjoying a lot more than I thought I would) my mind is focused on the paranormal.

So DejaVu - Is it real? is it not? I am not out to prove or disprove it's existence, only to share my own experiences and personal belief on the matter.

According to Cleveland Clinic, "An estimated 97% of people have experienced déjà vu at least once in their lives. This condition, which translates in French to “already seen,” is a transitory sensation of having already lived a totally identical situation at some point in the past." In my experience? I will dream of a moment in time only to have that moment in time actually happen. In the following paragraphs I plan to outline a typical deja vu experience for no other reason than I want to.

First, is always the dream followed by the actual event and the length of time in between the two is always unknown. The dreams are usually something like this......

Blackness, followed by a snapshot of what I subconsciously recognize as my life surrounded by more blackness. The latest was just a simple snapshot of a pile of markers on the floor. That's all - nothing more, nothing less - just markers. How long ago the dream happened I honestly can't remember. Usually, it's just long enough for my mind to consciously forget about the dream until it happens in real life.

Sometimes the dream does happen in real life and sometimes it doesn't - this morning it did. After a somewhat hectic morning of general craziness with a young dog and a cat pre-coffee, BAM! DejaVu. The dog was doing her usual best to try and catch the cat, when the cat knocked over a few containers of markers on the arm of the couch trying to get away. As I walked past the end of the couch and pile of markers, I remembered the dream that I had of a pile of markers. The details that were missing from the dream and now clear were: the colors of the markers (shades of pink); the couch (color and location); the end table (color and location); the apartment; the time of day, the date; and well - you get the picture. Sometimes I even remember, in the moment, reaching out to someone in the dream about that very moment. Trippy, right?

The term itself of deja vu is french and literally means "to see again" - but what exactly am I seeing again? the future? How can it be the future if it hasn't happened yet? If the future isn't planned then why am I dreaming about it? Or - is it programmed into the matrix and the matrix is potentially real? And by dreaming about it, I'm neurodivergent and publishing this article is going to bring the men in black to my doorstep? (If you're reading this and I've disappeared, you know why). I already know that I'm clairsentient and an empath, does deja vu also mean I'm a clairvoyant?

I feel as though I'm in a situation of asking which came first: the chicken or the egg - without the egg you don't have a chicken and without a chicken you don't have an egg. Does my dream of an unknown event in an unknown place at an unknown time act as the chicken or the egg?

Cleveland Clinic article

Image article

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Brown

I’m Elizabeth Brown and I write whatever comes to mind - erotica, fiction, erotic fiction, and so many others I haven’t even discovered. Care to explore just the tip?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.