Journal logo

Dear Vocal Moderators

a modest proposal

By Jazzy Published 10 months ago 3 min read
8
Dear Vocal Moderators
Photo by Rafaela Biazi on Unsplash

Dear Vocal Moderators,

I propose that we can write in Spanish (or any other language) as long as we provide the translation in our text. Recently, I wrote my "for you" poem, linked below, in Spanish. And it was beautiful. I provided what the words were in English; for some reason, it was denied simply because it was in another language. Therefore, I rewrote the poem in English.

We live in a country where we have no official language. We are a melting pot of unique languages and heritages, but we are being sheltered from these ideas and words. We can write erotica on this site, but I can't write for you in Spanish. I can write the word, clit but goodness, I can't write something in Portuguese. Therefore, we should be able to write in different languages. How many amazing stories are we missing out on because they are not in English? How are we supposed to expand our horizons when we can't experiment in our writing with words from another language? Though I want to point out I am thrilled that we can experiment with erotica on the site, and hopefully, I will get the audacity to try it one of these days!

Let me tell you; some things in English don't sound as beautiful. Have you ever heard the word, remember in Spanish? It is pure magic for the ears. How many people on Vocal can write in different languages and teach us something or two about their language and culture? My husband speaks Portuguese as his first language; he learned English by watching movies and reading. He moved to America when he was a young kid from Brazil. I want all of us to understand what we are capable of and hear beautiful words in other languages. He was so happy to find a song where a guy ends up rapping in Portuguese; the song is with Connor Price, linked below. It also is so wonderful to listen to. The excitement on his face to know someone who sounds like him can rap in a song is priceless.

I have studied Spanish since middle school, but since entering the workforce, I have noticed that I don't know enough. I want to learn and apply what I know and share that information with others. I want to be corrected on my grammar by someone who knows more than me, and I want to have a safe place to do that. I see Vocal as a safe place to bear my soul, in my words and emotions, and Vocal would be the place I could do that too, and many of us could do it in other languages. I have learned so much in writing and support from my Vocal family, and I am sad that I can't share this part of myself with them, and perhaps they also feel sad that they can't share that part of themselves with us.

I am curious about other people here; what languages do they know? What remarkable interweaving of English and other languages could we produce? Let me show you a song I like by Penny and Sparrow, Recuerda. Indeed a soulful and melodic song that you feel in your heart. Which means, remember in Spanish.

Do you here on Vocal know more languages? I'm German and Scottish, but I know very little of those languages but am so curious to learn. My husband attempts to teach me Portuguese, but he also speaks Spanish. So I wanted to publish my for you, in Spanish, for him. That was my ode to him, and I had to censor it to fit a mold. Let us not only allow English but maybe expand our horizons and break free of the single-minded language, and learn more about each other and ourselves.

Thank you for reading Vocal Moderators; I appreciate your time and love everything you have done on this site. I hope one day, we can add more languages to our writing!

Sicnerely,

Jazzy Gonçalves

pop culturefeature
8

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Totally agreed! I actually did not know about the restriction. The weird thing is that we can incorporate a word here and a word there from a different language, but I guess if there are too many words, the article gets rejected? If anything, foreign language submissions should automatically go to a pile for human approval, so they can check for the translation. I see no issues with translated submissions; many literary magazines do this already. Translation is a hugely important, yet underrepresented area of publishing; why not make it easy to do on Vocal?

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    That was some fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely.

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    I would love to be able to write in different languages!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    ❤ this piece!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I love this idea!!!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. As long as there's an English translation provided, I can't see why not? Maybe there could be a new community surrounding this idea? Where people can post their bilingual work and share their cultures. My mom was born in Portugal but moved to the US when she was a little girl. All my tias and tios speak Portuguese, and some of my cousins do too, but my sisters and I were never taught. I would love to learn, and I've been trying to find the motivation to do so, but learning new languages is so hard. Great post, I hope someone from Vocal sees it and it causes discussions internally

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.