Journal logo

Creating Content: How do I know What to make exactly?

To be honest, I'm still figuring it out.

By _MOKONGOPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Creating Content: How do I know What to make exactly?
Photo by Vanessa Serpas on Unsplash

Since I just started to be active again on social media, I figured that the best way to get people to engage with my content is to create content that's unique and best accurately represents me (like that hasn't been done before, lol). But, honestly the more I look around at these amazing and original content creators, the more I realize that accessing my content will be like looking for a needle in the largest haystack of individuals who are already dominating the game of social media if that made any sense.

I think my biggest concern is mainly that, plus the funding and resources I'd like to have during the trying times that we all can recognize as the pandemic. I hope to make content that isn't just photography but also falls in line with creative concepts in the form of videos, not necessarily short film, but very much has the feel of it. These videos could have a written narrative/dialogue or could be a very vivid interpretation of a fashion lookbook. I was planning on releasing these videos on TikTok and Instagram, with Instagram being the page of having some videos be a collective visual storybook while Tiktok viewers are able to observe the videos individually and view the videos as a single piece. The thing is, I'd need to upgrade some of my equipment. For photos, I've been managing with my iPhone 7 plus for a while, so until I come up with the right amount of funds I'll be sticking to photos for a while. If you'd like to see my photos and support my content, you can go ahead and click here to see my Instagram and like or follow!

Photos featured on my Instagram @mokongo_; collage provided by Canva

The main reason why I decided to write this though is that I've recognized that a lot of people want to get started on being a content creator, but they don't know where to start. Some people chose to be content creators that follow the route of forming relationships with companies by advertising for businesses and eventually work their way to the top by getting brand deals from major companies. This usually is found through Instagram accounts that appeal to audiences that love fashion and lifestyle content, one of the most well-known ways of content seen today. I can not tell you how many times I've seen content that is related to fashion or beauty on a daily basis. Even I'm desiring to be a creator who wants to create content aimed towards fashion, however, I'm trying my best not to be like everyone else. I have a vision for the content that I'd like to make that has a bit of a cinematic feel, and I believe I can achieve that with the right resources and enough support. Also, I'm not able to follow the trends I see on a day-to-day basis because frankly, I can't afford it (not to put a damper on anything, but it's true... heh). I'm a full-time student and part-time worker during the pandemic, so I kinda don't have time to invest in something that will most likely not be popular ages from now. As I continue to save money and shop for things that I love, I purchase items that overall help me express my style that is somewhat versatile and that best shows what I think makes the world of fashion a mesmerizing experience. Like I've said before, I'm not an expert on fashion in any sense. But, I have a bit of confidence in my sense of style and choice in clothing that I believe would be a bit of a site to see.

To find something that you're interested in would take a lot of soul searching and questioning. If there is content that you believe you can create, then by all means go for it or write that idea down. Getting that idea down somewhere can be a motivator for you to get started on making it happen. After that, I believe that it's important to ask hard questions such as" What are you doing this for?" or "Where do you see this going 5 years from now?" Creating content and promoting it on social media only sounds like a dream because people expect the outcome to be perfect when people who have been in the game long enough know that isn't the case at all. Creating content isn't just for you, but you create content that then influences other individuals. You don't get a check immediately after your first few posts, and you can't do it to hopefully get famous, because that shows that you only desire to be well known and have a certain lifestyle that has been romanticized. To truly find your passion in creative content, I believe one has to find what role suits them best. For me, I find that I don't mind being a front runner (actor) as well as a behind-the-scenes or technical member (director, editor). I know these aren't the technical terms, but basically, I know that I don't mind being in front or behind the camera when it comes to creating projects that align with the entertainment industry. I also know that I don't do this to hopefully become well known, but I hope to leave an impact on several individuals because I find that there's importance in a creative's point of view. I wish to get my point of view out there so that I create a space where the audience can be completely immersed in my creative world, or what's part of it. Would it be nice to become well known for it? Of course, it would, but people who wish to be part of creating content have to understand that it's not easy, and patience and perseverance are key if you wish to truly make a huge impact in the media.

Now because I'm not an expert on this sort of thing, the only thing I can advise is that you choose something that gravitates you. It can be creating amusing content in the form of skits and short videos, providing perspectives on more intellectual and serious matters, providing a point of view in the world of fashion, or just dabbling in a bit of everything that interests you cause who said you gotta choose? I just think that it's best to stay true to yourself and really focus on why you're driven to create content. It can be to give hope to others, educate other individuals, entertain people through happy and dark times, provide a new way of viewing things, and so many other reasons. I hope that people who want to be part of content creation understand that it's not as easy as it's been made up to be, but the passion and reason why you want to do it should only motivate you even more to put your voice out there.

As for me, I hope to use this article sort of like one of those things where you look back on those things that got you in that position in the first place. I want to be in a better place than I'm in right now, so I'll be releasing content as much as I can, whenever I can. This will kind of be like those milestones that I'll look back at and hopefully in the future, I'll be living the life that I've always dreamed of.

Thank you so much for reading! I'm going through a journey of finding myself and see what it takes to become a true creator, and I hope you'll follow me along this journey! If you liked this article and thought it was of some use, please give it a like and maybe even share it with some friends or people you think should read this. Donations of any size help too, as they help me get that much closer to getting the resources I need to create better quality content.

social media
2

About the Creator

_MOKONGO

CA Blogger/ 19 yr old college student

Just a regular girl with some surprising social commentary on whatever she can think of.

Fashion, Lifestyle, ideologies, and all that good stuff!

Follow me on my socials, all by the same name

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.