Journal logo

Content – What I try to Create to Make me Stand Out

How Can I do Better this Year

By Lynne BlackPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

So, at the end of the year, I always take the time to review the work I have done for my own website, and other freelance articles I have produced. At that time, I look to see how things have done and what I could have done better.

How Can I do Better this Year

With the New Year approaching, I would like to think this year has been an improvement over the last year.

I take a methodical approach to see:

• What I achieved

• Do I have new Subscribers to my website as well as other Social Media platforms?

• What did I excel in?

• Where did I fall short?

• What do I need to do better at next year to grow my site and traffic?

Whenever I am drafting a story, my end goal is to try and stand out to build my brand. With so much content out there, I try to take the following approach.

• Build my engagement by expressing my passion

• Develop content that resonates with my readers

• Research a topic thoroughly – is there new data?

• Provide information to my audience

When you are reading a story, what are you hoping? Well, the same goes for whether you are authoring a book, a short story, or an article; you want your readers to want to keep turning the page.

As you create your story, you will be able to create something that represents your brand and tells a story with your voice.

Writing About Something that Interests You

As a writer, I always hope people want to read my articles, blog posts or books. So, the one thing I have learned over the years is to say something that relates to me. I have found when I try to author an article about something I have no interest in, it does not sound right. In fact, I always try to create a story that engages my readers and shows my passion. For instance, when I write a blog post or an article on beauty or fashion, I do the following.

• Reach out to the brand and see if they have samples and where can I find their product

• If it is a skin care product, I evaluate it to make sure there are good ingredients as well as make sure I did not have any allergic reaction. What I have found is “Not all sizes fit all” and the same goes for clothing, skin care products and makeup. Afterall, we all have different body types and different skin.

• The results I look to achieve in my article is to have the reader feel like they have the information they need to make an educated decision on a product to try, a recipe to make, or a clothing brand to wear.

Do my Readers feel Confident in my Material?

Of course, I want anyone reading my article, blog post or story to feel as if my information stood out to them. Whether it is a product, I recommended, a clothing brand, or a service; my end goal is to have my readership remember something I said.

Do not Be Afraid to Ask for Help

Over the years, I have often told people who collaborate with me and people reading my material, if they see something they think is wrong to speak up. For example, there may be someone who works with you or reads your work regularly who may know more than you do. Therefore, do not be afraid to ask them for their opinion.

Articles and Stories that stand out

Finally, whether I am drafting an article, blog post or book; my goal is to create a story that lasts a lifetime.

Will someone want to re-read what I wrote again? Or do they forget it shortly after they read it?

I am always looking to tell a story that lasts a lifetime. When I find additional information on a subject I wrote about, I often update my articles. I find when I repurpose my old content and give it a little love, I can freshen up old information and update it with current information.

Finally, do not be afraid to leave your comfort zone. Also, consider using media as it can benefit you. For example, by adding images, you are telling your story in a unique way.

Graphics and videos have a way to make your content stand out and can help increase the overall interest of your story.

Now that you have the idea, you are sure to have your content stand out.

career
Like

About the Creator

Lynne Black

Hi - I'm Lynne Black, Founder of Fashionista Bombshell Whims!

I'm a Freelance Writer/Blogger and Published Author.

My stories and posts offer a peek into my life.

Of course, my goal is to inspire you through my books and articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.