Journal logo

Content Spew from a Disillusioned Twenty-Something

In which Steven shows off a new side-hustle

By Steven Christopher McKnightPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
13

Some background. I’m Steven. Hello. I graduated this past May from Susquehanna University with a degree in Creative Writing and Theatre Studies, into a decimated job market and $20k in debt. As my degree might hint at, I write. Plays, mostly. Some essays. Some short stories. The beginnings of novels. Unfortunately, due to the nature of the job market right now, I fear my degrees in the creative field might not be as lucrative as I led myself to believe.

I haven’t not made money off of my writing. I’ve made exactly $515 from an essay about Utah and a short story about a sad bird that dies. It’s my niche. I’m also not entirely unproduced as a playwright. My long one-act Caius & Quid was performed in full at Susquehanna University in March of 2019, and my seven-page anger-play about a strategically-unnamed fascist committing suicide in a bunker, The Man Who Shot Hitler, was picked up by the podcast No Small Part. At this particular juncture in my career, I am not without my petty successes.

On top of that, my freshman year of college, I was roped into writing for Odyssey Online, and as fascinating as that was, I didn’t like it. The website rooted itself in being a sounding board for disillusioned young people looking for validation for being able to communicate basic things about their human experience in text. I went along with it for a semester, wrote listicles that mocked the condition of the Odyssey Online Contributor: How to Overthrow Your Government in Five Easy Steps and Literally the First Five-Hundred Words That Come to Mind As I Write This. This was when there was a cash prize for the writer with the most clicks. When I returned to Odyssey after a several-month hiatus, the cash incentive was gone, and I decided to take my talents nowhere.

I am constituted by a plethora of failed projects in my wake: blogs, novels, story collections, Pokémon challenge runs that I grew bored with. They all had one thing in common. None of them made me money. It appears as though this medium offers very transparent rates for content creators. I like that a lot. So, dear reader, it is time for me to profit off of my distaste for my present condition. Help me profit off of the content spew of a disillusioned twenty-something trying to pay off his $20k in student debt.

satire
13

About the Creator

Steven Christopher McKnight

Disillusioned twenty-something, future ghost of a drowned hobo, cryptid prowling abandoned operahouses, theatre scholar, prosewright, playwright, aiming to never work again.

Venmo me @MickTheKnight

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.