Journal logo

Co-Creating the Apocalypse

A rumination on self-fulfilling prophecies.

By Morgana MillerPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - May 2023
31
Co-Creating the Apocalypse
Photo by Zachary Domes on Unsplash

Astrologers knew that 2020 was imminent. Typically not with much precision, mind you—although there were some predictions of a viral pandemic, and plenty of vague notions of accelerating social unrest. As an astrologer by birth and by training, I was raised to trust the stars. I have lived countless hours of my life in service to their study, collating their patterns and teasing apart their archetypes.

As my mother labored at the unfathomable age of nineteen to bring her first child into the world, her highschool best friend consulted an ephemeris—a thick tome cataloging the daily position of every celestial object—and drew a series of potential natal charts by hand. My mother tried to time my delivery to avoid certain placements, clenching down and extending her already long, late-term labor so that I might arrive with signatures that were more preferable, in her estimation. I arrived when I arrived as I arrived, despite her best efforts. As I see it now, though, I think it was because of her best efforts.

She later birthed two more babies with those ostensibly undesirable placements. As they say, what you resist, persists. (That's a theme, here. Take note.)

While I was raised on astrology and witchcraft, my husband, in his own journey of becoming, began obsessing over the knowledge and predictions of ancient civilizations at a very young age. So, from the time we met in 2015, we launched into a frenzied joint venture of forecasting apocalyptic timing. He would cross-reference the Mayan calendar with the Gnostic gospels and the Kali Yuga, and I would jam my finger at my laptop screen to show the place where Pluto and Saturn would meet on their own planetary nodes in January of 2020, and we would say "Here! No here—or perhaps here? This is when it will all come to an end."

It was pretty crazy. But weren't we all living out our apocalypse fantasies, back then? While my husband and I were refining them down to mystical technicalities, The Walking Dead was the most watched show on television. The 2010's was an era of Dystopian obsession. The decade's young adult fiction zeitgeist was The Hunger Games, for fuck's sake. And look at where we are now.

That's the fractal holographic nature of reality though, right? I mean, it's the crux of why astrology "works," in my view. Not because some outside gravitational forces exert their pull on this separate, distinct realm of human experience, but because life and the universe are really just one giant self-fulfilling prophecy. On the individual microcosm, and the collective macrocosm. So maybe, like the astrologers, we all knew 2020 was coming.

On some level, we created it.

But let's go back to the microcosm, for a moment. My growing unease about 2020, before 2020, manifested in the sense that an escape from city-dwelling would be wise. So in the summer of 2018, my husband and I fled from Denver, Colorado to the Sierra foothills.

We nearly signed a lease for a cliffside house in Paradise, CA, just four months before the devastating Camp Fire ravaged the town to dust. It was the deadliest United States wildfire in a century.

Having narrowly escaped the center of that particular apocalypse, we instead watched from our window in a neighboring town as white ash floated like snowfall amongst the red fir giants. Unceasingly, for days. We wore masks outside. Everyone did.

We would endure burning eyes and haunting red skies several more times, in the same and the subsequent fire season, for smaller, lesser known fires that were mere twenty, thirty, fifty miles from our home.

Since California utility giant PG&E's faulty, ancient equipment was responsible for sparking most of these fires, they instituted a policy of shutting off their lines when it was windy outside in vulnerable communities like ours. We drove to Reno as evacuees once, when we were without power for weeks. That's not to count the number of times we stuck it out for days, without internet to do our remote jobs, or electricity to refrigerate and cook our food. The nights reading books and playing board games by candlelight were romantic, but terrifying. An eerie irony loomed when, in an effort to prevent fires, PG&E drove thousands of bereft residents to live at night by the light of open flames.

For us, the apocalypse hit early. I learned that an obsessive impulse to escape calamity will lead you to calamity. Fear-based action is a magnet for fear. By now, you should be thinking: Oh, yeah, self-fulfilling prophecy.

In the summer of 2020, we moved back to a city.

In the years since, we've all witnessed society and politics and media shift in bizarre, unprecedented fashion. I don't need to list the ways in which the world we live in now isn't the world we lived in before. For many of us, we still carry the sense that things will get worse before they get better. But delving into the depths of my own darkness during all of those powerless nights taught me to stop running from shadows, because that is the surest way to run towards them.

It's the ultimate paradox, and one that's at the forefront of driving the world we inhabit. And I've asked myself this a lot, recently: As the loudest voices dig their heels into their divisive opinions, lynching and lambasting and cancelling anyone with opposing convictions, I wonder if they're aware that by feeding all of their focus on the things they most vehemently resist, they're breeding, with ironic inevitability, a perpetuation of the very forces they purport to fight against? Via their righteous disagreements, they are, in fact, co-creating their own apocalypse.

I suspect there's a quiet sea of us in the middle, now, who are trying our best to feel through the cognitive dissonance. Seeking to understand, instead of fighting to be right. Because what is righteousness, really? Where does the feeling come from? Does it come from the heart? That's not a rhetorical question. Personally, though, I don't think it does.

I don't have a final rally cry. I don't have a call-to-action to leave you with. I'm just masticating here. Food for thought, you know? I'm squinting through all of the smoke, to the fire that's burning, and imagining what it would feel like to love the flames. What would our apocalypse look like, then?

humanity
31

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • James Evans12 months ago

    Great post

  • ARC12 months ago

    “I suspect there’s a quiet sea of us in the middle, now… Seeking to understand instead of fighting to be right.” Astoundingly efficient use of language to convey an intricate idea here, Morgana. So good. This is an important piece that holds many liberating keys within it, for the readers willing to take a patient look and think about not only the truths you point out directly.. but the ones you allude to.. hint at.. point toward as well. Thank you for writing this. You make our world a better place with this kind of honesty and insight. Bravo on a well-deserved TS 👏

  • R. J. Rani12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your insights on this topic, dear Morgana! My favorite thing was reading the part where you describe how you and your husband worked out dates together. Such rich imagery! I bet you have some rich conversations in your household :)

  • MUHAMMAD ABDULLAH12 months ago

    Great story and congratulations on your ranking Anyone can read my stories I hope you would like them again congrats

  • Dean F. Hardy12 months ago

    Ahh yes, happy this is here. You're a very talented writer Morgana. Keep it up, much love.

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Congratulations on a well earned Top Story. I liked your approach to this topic. And how you presented it. You not only asked questions you made us ask questions. Brilliant

  • Wow. So insightful. So much to digest and consider. Thank you for this

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Read this right after you published it and had to process and think about it for awhile... I'm glad to see it got Top Story!!

  • Excellent work and congratulations on your Top Story

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Yes- congrats on top story! Well deserved!! 💫

  • Dean F. Hardy12 months ago

    The phenomenon of blowback is and always has been something more destructive in history then the genesis of what we pushed against in the first place. Something you spoke about gracefully here. While I read, I had the thought that you would love the book White Noise by Don Delillo. If you haven't read it already. I enjoyed this a lot, thanks Morgana.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I kept telling people that we were entering the Age of Aquarius (Age of Pandora), and that Uranus in Taurus was going to trigger economic collapse in 2020, year of Judgement. I told them if they didn’t start fulfilling their soul purpose through contribution (the lesson of Aquarius) that they wouldn’t survive this shift. And then what happened? People with soul-sucking jobs lost their jobs. We haven’t seen anything yet. I’ve been trying to tell people that 2024 will be far more intense, a time we’ll all reap what we’ve sown these past four years, for better or worse. But I’m done talking about it because no one listens.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Morgana, this was an insightful and thought provoking read. I really liked the line “I arrived when I arrived as I arrived”, I feel like it sent the message that things happen as they are supposed to and none of us can do much about it. Even if we wanted to. I really appreciate your turn of phrase and vocabulary choices in this piece. This felt well thought out and was really well constructed. Overall a great read, nice work!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Intriguing insights Morgana! You’re exactly right about self creating our own apocalypse. Glad, by whatever occurrence, you bypassed Paradise. 💜

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Oh wow, this... This was so well done, Morgana! REALLY incredible insights, and a truly incredible read! "stop running from shadows, because that is the surest way to run towards them" Powerful. I stand there with you, in the middle, seeking to understand with genuine curiosity!

  • Seems the only way to avoid the apocalypse is to ignore it & simply do our best to get through whatever comes next. And yes, I do love fire, except for when it's destructive &/or deadly. Loved the article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.