Journal logo

Changes to Game of Mass Destruction

Game of Mass Destruction has been edited, here’s what’s changed.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

My novel and 10th book, Game of Mass Destruction has had a few changes. The storyline and fate of the characters remain the same, but there has been some changes that were necessary. A One star review from a reader that only finished less than three chapters of the book, encouraged me to reach out for a professional editor.

Some changes to the book are so minor, that one may not notice. Game of Mass Destruction was first published on Wattpad in April 2019, and I had used the premise on a few fan fics over the years. At the moment, I’m working on a Squid Game/Game of Mass Destruction crossover on A03.

Hiring A Professional Editor

Since it’s original paperback publication in February 28th 2020, the work on it continues. It is now available on paperback, hardback, ebook and in audiobook. After getting reviews and feedback, I had been saving to hire an editor. When I found one that accepted installments. I believe that paying for an editor was worth the money. The prose reads much clearer and smoother.

The editor I hired was Nick from Just Write It. We were mutuals on twitter, and he had worked with LGBTQ+ content and the book was featured on his LGBTQ+ summer reading list in 2020. So I thought we were a great fit and I think we worked very well together.

Removal of Trademark Names

All references to trademarks have been removed. In previous editions, a reference to a Disney Game of Thrones remake and devices like iPhone and Netflix were removed. Instead the Disney Game of Thrones remake was replaced with What Dal Gong-Gi Did Next, a reference to my K-pop novel which is still not finished. Trademark issues were one of the things that got raised up during the editing phase, so as a precaution, I got rid of them all to keep myself covered.

Famous Quotes Replaced With Original Quotes

Further to eliminate issues with copyright and trademark, I have replaced quotes from famous celebrities with original quotes from the contestants, relatives and other minor characters that exist in the novel’s universe. These quotes that I have used still exist on the Wattpad version but for the published editions, they have been replaced.

Consistency

In the novel, there is a game mentioned that some of the characters play. It had a few different names throughout the novel like Choco Donatsu and Chocolate Donuts. For consistency, I have used one name to refer to the game to keep it consistent. It’s now called Chocolate Doughnuts Express.

In one scene, there is a lighthouse that is mentioned. As it is only mentioned the once and it feels like it comes out of nowhere, the one reference to the lighthouse has been removed and the events that happened in the lighthouse now takes place in the windmill.

What’s Next?

Since I have had my novel professionally edited, I have noticed feedback has been more positive. The last couple of reviews I have received on Amazon + Goodreads have been very positive. I already did have

I also hope to get the book translated into other languages, especially Japanese as my main character, Yuzuko is also Japanese. I hope to get lucky with Babelcube and Tektime.

I also have plans to work on a sequel. I had ideas to rewrite it in Yuzuko‘s point if view, but I dont want to tell the same story again. I think there are a lot of questions that readers still have. Based on reviews and feedback I have had, my readers would love to see more of Sia Bucks again.

Thank you!

And now, I would like to thank everyone who has reviewed, read and given feedback on Game of Mass Destruction. It is available in most major retailers and in the following formats: e-book, paperback, hardback and audio via Audible. You can also request Game of Mass Destruction at your local libraries and bookstores.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.