Journal logo

Careers I Have Considered Before Choosing My Current Career

Choosing My Path

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

What comes to your mind when someone says 'dream career?'

Did you accomplish your goal and follow your dream when you were nine years old?

Or are you an indecisive oddball like me who can't seem to get their life together?

Your dreams are constantly changing and shaping you into who you really are.

It's been a long journey for me, though you could argue and say I have a lot to learn for my age. Over the course of my life, I have considered seven unique careers.

1. Teacher

This is currently the oldest career I have considered since I was around ten years old. Over time, I started to get a weird feeling in my gut that I wouldn't be a good fit for a teacher. When I did some research in expanding my education, I ended up crushing this dream down into a nightmare. Knowing that I will never return to this path again. It takes a special heart to deal with people and help them succeed. Plus, it would get quite repetitive and I like to expand and use my imagination. I don't want to be confined to do something I don't want to do.

2. Lawyer and Detective

I know these two careers are different, but the one that came first was lawyer. However, after doing some research, I didn't want to be a lawyer after discovering how much education you actually need. On top of how much debt I would be in if I did go down this path. Yes, it is a lot of reading and researching, which I like to do, but I don't want to fall into the evil hands of student debt. Unfortunately, this was an end to this path, and a new path formed.

Like a lawyer, the detective is part of the law. As someone who watches way too many crime shows while trying to find who the suspect is before it's announced (and it's usually right) I thought it would be a relatively good fit for me. Until, I was dealt with the harsh reality that we live in that you have to start as an officer, with a likelihood of dying or being severely injured. That didn't sit right with me. I want a career I can enjoy. I don't want to have constant fear in my life just to go to work.

3. Retail

A nice change. An entry-level job that just needs experience and no degree required unless you climb the ranks. It was great. Until I met a couple of bad apples that ruined my mood a couple of days. Where I would leave work like I was about to go murdering someone. Yeah, that's not ideal.

4. Bartender

I have been considering bartending lately. Same with what's below. Both my parents were bartenders at one point in their lives, so I would receive some help if needed. However, I'm still undecided if I want to bartend part-time or just scrap the whole idea entirely.

5. Librarian

Like bartending, this was the other I have been considering lately. What more could you want? There are books everywhere. Being surrounded by books and it's a quiet place. A perfect career for me because I don't like loud and noisy areas. However, I seem to have stumbled across the further education path again, and I constantly ask myself "are you sure you want to do this?" This thought constantly enters my mind, and it still isn't going away. I have said to myself, "if I want to further my education, I will only go up to an Associate's degree. Nothing more."

6. Writer / Author

Here we are now. Though, I've always had a love for writing before the careers above have crossed my mind. I have written a story since I was seventeen, though it's only ninety percent finished. I've also had some ideas to write a wolf story. Even a three-book series that involves solving a crime.

I took a trip down memory lane. What was I good at in high school? I would always ask myself. I didn't have the greatest grades when I reached high school, but one subject stayed consistent throughout. English classes. From 6th grade through 12th grade, my English classes were at the top of the class.

I've done it. I know what my actual 'dream' career is. I want to put my work out there and get recognized one day.

I'm starting to push myself to the limits. Knowing that one day, I can make this my dream career.

career
3

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.