Journal logo

Can You Survive as a Writer in the Film Industry?

I couldn't

By Noorain HassanPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Photo on Unsplash

Life and writing aren't about that subordinate clause we read in our school. It's something dark & unpleasant that makes us the 'writer' we are.

But, in real life:

We see many talented writers, and we envy them (all year long). We knot their achievements with black magic, fake leads, bogus publicity, and whatnot. Ever done that?

Everybody does. We forget that writers' painful background still exists (even if we don't know it yet). Two things make a writer:

You are a writer by birth, or

A drastic change in your life makes you adopt the writing path.

If you are wondering about me, it was the "B" that made me a writer. And assuming it's the same for you, too.

My inrush with the Flim industry.

I will not bore you all with my life history - so don't worry. It's just a story designed to navigate your up-coming life choices.

Well… I am from a non-native English background. My first language is Arabic, continued with English. I am studying and (was) working in the "Film sciences & Advertising."

Film sciences include engaging with thousands of actors and actresses - some of which are good; some aren't. You know how the Film industry works… right?

Ok, let me tell you.

Maybe you won't get a chance to visit your home in 2–3 days. You need to make the set, studio, and camera your home - it's the first thing they teach you when studying Film sciences.

Soon, the actors and Media persons get under your skin. You become like them. Even if they are nasty… you become nasty.

You might say… Noorain, but what if we hang out with good people? First, there are no good people. You can say 40% of them are, and leftovers are mentally unstable. Whatever you do, you become the lousy version of yourself in the Media, and you can't stop it.

Although there are good people only if you keep praising them. People in the Media have no religion, culture, tradition, and maybe no heart. They only work on one principle - chase success until you can "REJECT" Films and Ads like pride.

Is this the meaning of success for you?

How does the Film industry work?

This happens;

The Film industry's bitter truth is that you have to contact everyone - including people you don't like.

It was hard for me. I am a woman of my nature, and I know my meriting. I cannot simply go about bragging oneself because he/she has stronger publicity than me (and can diminish me in a second).

It challenged my perspective about Media;

Okay,… I had a friend named "Noura." She got sick after we went home during the photo shoot of "Pizza Hut portfolio." I messaged her asking about how she is and joined her on Instagram. After a few days, I noticed she unfollowed me. I told myself,… okay, chill. Maybe a mistake. And I saw her following, reduced to 62 from 113. This means she either adds everyone at first or is indulgent to remove followers who don't praise her - which in both ways is self-defeating.

This incident made me realized my self-worth - that I am nothing. If I don't show off my body and I'm not that touchy-touchy type, I can never climb up to her status - not even as a writer.

You need to be a fake version of yourself to survive in the Film Industry.

This is what the Film industry makes you realize in every single step. Remember how many actors praise other actors too often? There's a hidden reason - help.

A help (once) is a debt you can't pay

Never

The path I regret choosing.

In my writing and Film industry career, I got an internship or an offer to work on a Film/Ad; I chose to write because it is decent and calm. My other friends always select the "director" or "producer" role because it's the opportunity for them.

I carried my books, parked myself under the canteen roof, and studied the script, making some changes. But they rarely valued me for anything I wrote. Because it's always acting and writing is FAKE & SHIT.

Clashing with the editor and senior producer made me realize how weak I was, even with many ideas I had upfront. I stopped saying… I watched them dumbly.

No doubt, they created many magnificent Films and TVC's for the time being. They did some splendid work, but never thank the interns for it. According to them, success was possible because of the actors.

  • They wanted to invest in actors, &
  • Writers with the old concepts

Honestly, their plot was raw and had garbage traditions. The Films used to revolve around "Love and Nudity." Daily, I used to remind myself 4–5 times how wrong I was when I took Film sciences as my career.

Once or twice a week, my brother used to take me to his partnered Ad company. I used to visit it and got goosebumps because of…

  • Some Fake writers praising actors
  • Alcohol and cigarette
  • Hanging out stuff

I got frustrated… that was the moment I realized leaving the Film industry and start freelancing. Maybe I'll have the decency to bury my failure face behind a decent "freelancer" mask.

Author's own image

The above image is the last snapshot I took on a "Pizza Hut Portfolio Ad." I left the Film industry on 24/march/2019 and have never been back there.

I never came home.

My home (studio and set)

Think like this: Life… yes, life… is sometimes that under-cooked doughnut. Some situation bounces back, and you can't do anything except eat that doughnut piece and move on with life.

If life gives you a lemon, eat lemons. If life gives you tension, eat that too.

Probably, when you eat things like tension & air, you won't get fat. 😃

I did the same thing. When life pushed me into a hole, I turned back and followed life in the exiting direction🚪. This is how I came out.

Okay, enough with life and sadness.

The imbalanced writing life

My life became a joke of the situation. I left my friends, my work, and the publicity that I had. I altogether had a 21k following on Instagram with a public profile.

I made an oath, deleted all the following, and reduced it down to 1k now. I feel ashamed for people pointing out towards me with such gambit respect.

Then, I started writing for FREE to switch my life choices from a "failed woman to a better writer." I urged myself not to realize that writing has nothing to do with the Film industry. Fact.

I wrote one of my pieces in July 2020 and published it on Illumination. It was about Arabic beauty and the Money Heist. Dr. Mehmet Yildiz, as an owner and editor, viewed my story and recommended me a few modifications to proceed with.

In August, I came back on Medium, wrote few more stories to start with something good, and flew back into my nest.

My nest of not trying anything.

Along the way, I had some writer friends that sparked some motivation in me, which was too strong to bring me back to Medium.

What did I learn after coming back?

So if you have been thinking, what changed my life? It's "Illumination."

I came back in December, improved my writing, and reached out to Dr. Mehmet for being an editor - -and thanks to him; I got approved right at the moment.

I stepped into the world of editors, where everyone was different people of color. It was complex, blending with all of them. Everyone was greater than me in terms of experience and knowledge. But along the time, I am getting more and more mixed with these editors like mentors.

We had a slack group, and many editors influence me throughout my journey. Dr. Preeti Singh, Josh Balerite Acol, and Sumera Rizwan were aiding with the support and their reciprocity act (which I can never forget).

Later, I met a great jolly girl, Claire Kelly, just like our Karen Madej and her key editing skills.

And If you want to know who motivated me? It was always The Maverick Files and Dew Langrial. They kept encouraging me through their curation jackpot.

Is writing becoming a Film industry?

Writing is becoming a Film industry, and we can't stop it.

We writers think we need prominent people to like, clap and follow us to make ourselves well known.

But it shouldn't be like that.

Take the claps, comments, and highlights as an appreciation, not a milestone. Don't make writing a Film industry.

You know what? Writers that came before us didn't even know their work would ever go viral. Robert Frost and William Shakespeare weren't recognized back like they are now.

We need to become like Robert Frost, man!

To all those who say writing has no reality:

It's not just me; it's everyone out there. Won't you leave your writing for something big? Something that will pay you $30,00 a month with no chance of the future?

You will.

And you don't have to.

Believe in yourself. Writing has no limits. No one can say if you could become a superstar writer in the upcoming years!

Even if you don't, at least you, your friends, and your family know you. Or even I do - doesn't that make you a superstar writer?

Never think being a celebrity writer is everything… believe me, it's not.

If you always find pleasure while 'writing' - this sign is enough for you to keep going.

Disclaimer

The original version of this story was published in another platform under the same title.

career
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.