Journal logo

Can You Eat A Fried PB&J for Breakfast?

And Other Strange Thoughts I Woke Up With

By Natalie GrayPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Can You Eat A Fried PB&J for Breakfast?
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Can you eat a fried Pb&J for breakfast? Nutritionally, it seems like a good idea. Peanut butter is full of iron and protein, and if you use preserves instead of jelly then you get a serving of fruit and fiber. And then, of course, you have the bread to consider: whole wheat, white, multigrain, tortilla wrap, etc...

Is there such thing as a Pb&J quesadilla? Now, I want to try and find out if such a bizarre yet bizarrely delicious sounding thing exists. I suppose if it doesn't, I could always create one just to see how it tastes.

I mean, it should taste good, right? Peanut butter and jelly is one of those ubiquitous things that always seems to taste good, no matter what kind of jelly, peanut butter or nut/seed butter in general you choose. Salty, sweet, fruity, it's like comfort on a plate. For some of us, it helps us to hang on to a beloved piece of our childhood, perhaps a piece long forgotten. This simple yet scrumptious combination may not even evoke a childhood memory at all, simply the pleasant, bittersweet feeling that the memory once accompanied.

But what about a fried Pb&J? I admit, I haven't had too many of these in my lifetime, but for those curious yes, it does exist. To our neighbors across the pond, you may add it to the cacophany of other culinary monstrosities we Americans have concocted, such as corndogs and deep-fried oreos. Mm. Deep-fried oreos sound good too. Too much work to make for breakfast though, and too unhealthy.

It's funny we call it a "fried" sandwich, when really it isn't at all. It's griddled on the stove, much like a grilled cheese sandwich. Granted, there is still butter involved, so it can't be too healthy for you. The point of a fried pb&j though isn't really supposed to be all that nutritional. It's considered a treat, much like a fried peanut butter and banana sandwich (which is an entirely different delicious abomination. You can thank Elvis for that one). That being said, is it appropriate to consume as a breakfast food?

I would argue... maybe. For the reasons I stated in the first paragraph. On top of that, it's getting colder each and every morning around here. Pardon me if cold cereal isn't exactly something that can easily coax me out from under my warm, toasty blankets on a morning where the dew on my window has turned to frost. I am well aware that certain amazing natural resources such as eggs and oatmeal exist, but both take more effort to prepare than I am willing to exhert today at this hour of the morning. Right now, a fried pb&j sounds hot, gooey, delicious, and stupid easy to slap together.

On the note of assembling a pb&j, I did actually look up before writing this to see if people - any people anywhere in the world - actually might consider a fried pb&j a breakfast food, if only to justify my strange craving to have one right now (before you ask, no, I am not pregnant. I am, however, currently seeking applicants to possibly become the father of my future children. If interested, please leave your resume at the door). To my surprise, there are actually in existence on the internet, as of this moment, recipes for a fried pb&j sandwich. This I cannot fathom. Does one really need instructions on how to put together a peanut butter and jelly sandwich? The instructions seem quite self-explanatory. The recipes I've seen were wrong though, just so you know.

Before you rail me in the comments, try this at least once and hear me out. When I was little, my grandmother made the hands-down best pb&js. She would take equal parts peanut butter and jelly, put them on a plate, and - stay with me - mix them together before spreading it on the bread. It sounds like blasphemy to hard core pb&j lovers, I know, but oh my giddy aunt if it isn't the most amazing thing! When the condiments (I guess you would call them that? Or, maybe "spreads" is better. "Spreads" just sounds gross though, honestly) are blended this way, you get the absolute perfect amount of peanut butter and jelly in every bite. Try it at least once before you raise a stink. You'll have an extra plate to wash, but I have a feeling you'll thank me later. I should mention she used strawberry preserves. For anyone curious, this is the perfect mate to peanut butter, and anyone else is wrong.

I'm hungry.

humanityhumorpop culture
1

About the Creator

Natalie Gray

Welcome, Travelers! Allow me to introduce you to a compelling world of Magick and Mystery. My stories are not for the faint of heart, but should you deign to read them I hope you will find them entertaining and intriguing to say the least.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sherry Gray about a year ago

    Insightful and nostalgic. Loved every imaginary bite!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.