Journal logo

Can word games help relieve writers block?

Fix Writers Block with Wordle, and wordle-like games

By James JensenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

What is writers block?

At its base level writers block is where you feel stuck, and are unable to write anything you feel is worthy or progressive, so you just don't write at all. This can be for a variety of reasons;

  • You feel that what you write needs to be perfect and you just commit anything that is not
  • You compare yourself to other successful writers and feel you can never attain their status
  • You lack confidence in your abilities because a project just seems to big for you to handle
  • The common element is that each of these problems stems solely from you and your way of thinking - there is no physical problem and as such you can use the same tip that I use to tackle anxiety - Name it and Tame it.

    In other words to overcome any problem you first must understand what is causing it. The odd thing just getting to the root of the problem is often enough to bat it out of the way and allow you to do what you need to do.

    I have a whole 'nother article on how to overcome writers block but for now we're going to ask

    Can playing word games fix your writers block?

    I had a friend who worked on a chicken farm. He spent an awful lot of his day cleaning up the mess left by the feed falling off the conveyor belt that delivered it to the chickens. He spent so much time cleaning it up that he couldn't step back and say, 'If I just raised the height of these runners the feed wouldn't fall on the ground in the first place.' In other words he couldn't see the forest for the trees.

    Sometimes that's what you need to do with your writing - step back, clear your mind, totally concentrate on something else, then go back and look at your story anew.

    I've done this by building word games into my routine - I make myself a coffee and drink it while running a little plot review, just to familiarise myself with what I'm working on and work in any tweaks or twists I want to try. Then I'll do 4-500 words, either on the project or just freewriting, often using an app like The Most Dangerous Writing App to get things flowing.

    Next I'll make myself another cup of coffee and clear my mind with some word games, effectively etcho-sketching it before I crack on with what I think of as The Main Business Of The Day.

    Which word games work best to clear writers block?

    In a word, Wordle

    Wordle has been a runaway success thanks to it’s simplicity to learn, it’s uptake by celebrities, and ultimately it’s easy shareability across every social media platform. We all know that it’s creator, Josh Wardle, made it as a gift for his partner before the NY Times swooped in and scooped it up… And yes, I did wonder if Josh's partner got a share of the whopping 7-figure sum the NYT paid for it!

    Games Like Wordle

    Oscar Wilde said that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, and so it is that there is a slew of Wordle-like games flooding the net at the moment. Some of them are really very good however a number of them do pay homage to the second part of Oscars quote, ‘Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery that mediocrity can pay to greatness‘.

    Here I’ll list every Wordle-like game I’ve found and let you decide which are keepers!

    Worldle – Wordle with geography where you have to guess the country or territory based on its shape

    Nerdle – a maths version of wordle because it’s just as fun playing with numbers as playing with letters

    Absurdle – an adversarial version of Wordle where the game is actively trying to avoid giving you the answer

    MyWordle – prefer to Make Your Own Wordle?

    Crosswordle – guess the two crossing words in as few guesses as possible

    Bikle – a weekly cycling-based wordle for the lycra brigade

    Queerdle – surely not an LGBTQ wordle?? What a riot!

    Squirdle – a pokemon wordle!

    Lordle (of the Rings!)

    Primel – a maths wordle with prime numbers

    Lewdle – Rude words only for you of the extended vocabulary!

    Star Wordle – rumour is this started a long time ago in a galaxy far away

    Quordle – solving four words at once!

    If I’ve missed any please do add them to my new writing forum so we can all have a go, and if you have any thoughts or insights or just want to share your writing routine please let us know on Just Write.

    literature
    2

    About the Creator

    James Jensen

    I've wanted to be a writer since I first ran my hand along the spines of books at my school library. I aim to write a Short Story A Week using randomly generated writing tips but do get in touch to suggest a topic, prompt, or story

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments (2)

    Sign in to comment
    • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

      Thank you for sharing.

    • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

      Good article.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.