Journal logo

Becoming Me

By: Najuma Ali

By Najuma AliPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo is not owned by me

I am an african american female born in the year 2000. So I guess technically that makes me a GenZer? Echk. Gross.

I am only joking...slightly. Gen Z has their pros and cons. I am here to focus on the pros.

I am 21 years old and I am going to school to be a teacher but I am not completely sure I want to be a teacher my whole life anymore.

So where does that leave me?

The way the world sees it, the beginning of every year is the chance to fix bad habits and try new things.

The way I see the new year, however, is more time to become who I am.

I know who I want to be and yet, twenty one years in, I still have yet to attain even a fraction of who I know I can be.

Now you're question to me might be, "Well Najuma, who do you want to be?"

My answer to you would be short, concise, and simple...I want to be me.

Bare with me because contrary to what you are probably thinking right now, I do indeed know that I am making little to no sense.

Sometimes you have to be confused and lost before you can find the truth. By wanting to 'be me', I simply mean that I want to be the best me I can be and I want to achieve the numerous goals that I have set out for myself. No I do not have a full proof plan on how to accomplish these goals and no I actually don't have any type of plan at all. I just have one ideology.

Take it day by day.

I reckon that if I put energy towards completeing my goals everyday then eventually I will be successful. It's not full proof but it's what I am working with.

Now for the juicy bits of my resolution plan.

What are my goals?

My main overall life goal is nothing if not unoriginal and already dreamed up by millions of people.

I want to be completely financially stable so that I can live and travel freely.

Boring right? Yawn. Literally everyone wants that.

This is where the GenZ in me comes out.

I want to do all of that, without working a 9 to 5 and preferrably doing so from the comfort of my home.

Why?

Because the world is a scary place that should only be frequented when you want some food or fresh air....duh.

Financial freedom. My favorite phrase.

Now there are thousands upon thousands of ways to achieve this freedom. The path is up to the journey taker. I have found that it is best to take the path that most intrigues and interests you. Becuase once you get to the end of the road and acquire that sweet, sweet, freedom, I highly doubt it'll be real freedom if you're doing something you despise.

So what's my poison?

I love to write and play video games. I want to make money writing and playng video games. And I know I can because have watched so many people do it before me. It is possible.

I am actually working on my dream as I type. I am entering in to this competiton as a stepping stone to my writing dream. I'm not going to stress that this isn't perfect because I know that this is just the beginning. I cannot wait to really get into it and have a full portfolio of stories and peopleand universes that created. Creating is one of the most exciting things ever. I can talk about it all day.....but I won't.

My goal of getting paid by playing video games is being built from my stream on Twitch. It is a live streaming site where people go and stream themselves playng games, music, art, and even just chatting. I watch more streams than I do tv shows and movies. Streaming is undoubtedly the future and I want to be apart of it. My big obstacle for that right now is not knowing what to say. I can be so awkward. I know I have a personality to be on twitch, I just have to find a way to open up and be present in the moment. It's a work in progress. But the work is what makes it so fun and exciting. Especially when the work you put in starts paying dividends.

Those are my two main paths to becoming me. There are a bunch of moving pieces that I am working on but if I were to go into detail, we would no doubt be here all day.

Look out for me on twitch will you? My name is CarnageQueen.

And look out for me here on vocal as well because I'm not going anywhere.

.

.

.

OH!

If you were looking for a more traditional new year resolution then I do indeed have one thing that I'm sure people say all the time...

I want to get in the best shape of my life.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Najuma Ali

A 21 year old amateur writer who is trying something new. I've been on wattpad since 2015 but never really published any of my works. So I hope this goes well.

follow me on wattpad @najpaj2000 lol. Check out my reading lists there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.