Journal logo

Beauty Of Life

Enjoying The Everyday Things

By Dristin VanderleiPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1

I sit in Starbucks with my coffee waiting for the rain to pass, not wanting to get wet. A few people sitting around me who had already finished their coffee and whatever they got to eat. I sit and look out the window seeing the night rain pour down—a beautiful site.

Why are so many of us scared of something so beautiful?

Maybe we are just scared of the lightning striking us down, killing us, maybe just scared of getting wet and being uncomfortable in a position like that. Maybe some people are just scared to get their phones wet. I do understand the most beautiful things are the things that can kill us. But then what is the point of it all if we are just living a safe life avoiding the things that we find beautiful or enjoyable?

I sit here tired, looking out at the rain, thinking of the time as a kid when I didn’t care about getting wet or even worried about lightning killing me. I don’t want to be like all these other people just scared of getting wet. What kind of boring life are they living?

I know I don’t want that for myself, I would like to freely enjoy the beauty of the earth that the universe provided. I believe everything that is given to us is what the universe did to help us survive in the past. We need the rain for the plants to grow or just to avoid a drought, in order for us to survive. It is beautiful as it happens, and beautiful how it helps us to survive, at least in the past, now we have technology that helps us survive, we forget how the fundamentals of survival come from the earth. I just can’t understand how we are scared of beautiful things like that.

I mean just look at how we are often scared to just talk to beautiful people. We are scared of talking to beautiful women or men, we are scared of beautiful things, cause we think they will hurt us in some way.

When in reality that can be very rare, that beautiful person may have more in common with you than you think, y’all both may love the same things or have the same interests. Or maybe y’all can be totally different and have the opposite mindset. But isn’t that beautiful in it’s own way as well, the fact that y’all are different, it just makes people interesting.

I find people are even scared of the sun, they don’t want to go outside cause it can be hot. They are even scared of the heat. But if you look up at the sky, you can see it is beautiful. Just the fact that the sky is shining I find is beautiful. Yes, it’s hot, but beautiful things come with some sort of side effect that is often just minor.

The fundamental key to your happiness is the things you find you're scared of. So in a way breaking out of your comfort zone is the key for you to be happy.

You living a safe life is what causes you to be unhappy, so why live safely when you are unhappy?

I find it much more important to live a scary life to be happy. You will never conquer anything being safe. Plus you gotta remember it is all beautiful, it’s all there for you to enjoy.

I get up from seat in the coffee shop, walking by everyone who is waiting for the rain to pass and walk straight outside in the night rain. I instantly get wet in the pouring thunderstorm. As I look around I see a boy riding his bike, looking as if he doesn’t have care in the world in fact that he is getting wet or the fact that there is lightning. He reminded me of me as a young boy who just enjoyed Earth as my playground. I continued to walk in the pouring night rain to fully take in the enjoyment that life has provided.

literaturehumanityadvice
1

About the Creator

Dristin Vanderlei

I'm Dristin someone who found his passion for writing when I was kid and fell in love with movies, once I figured out I could basically just tell my own stories I been writing ever since. Appreciate if you check out my writings plz comment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.