Journal logo

Avoid These Side Hustles Before It's Too Late

4 Side hustles that aren't worth the time or effort

By Sean PeckPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Avoid These Side Hustles Before It's Too Late
Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

Having a side hustle should be something you look into if you haven’t already. You’re missing out on some easy money and besides, there’s nothing wrong with making extra money on top of money you’ve already made from your job. That extra money you make will add up sooner than you think and if you have the time, find more side hustles and check them out.

I’ve made blogs on some of my favorite side hustles that could potentially reward you more than your full-time job has, it’s been getting more common for these side hustles to pay you a large amount of money. For example, I got my first $1,000 quickly because of one of my side hustles so I have the attitude where nothing is impossible to make money online.

That being said, Just like Ying and Yang there are always going to be opposites. When it comes to side hustles there are ones that pay you great and then there are ones that will barely pay you.

I’ve seen some articles saying to try out some of these side hustles but in reality, they just end up wasting your time and you’ll regret even trying them out in the first place. When you choose a side hustle it’s important to choose something that you have some sort of passion in. There are millions of side hustles so choose wisely with what you want to do and stick to it. However, you should avoid these ones at all costs.

Online Surveys

I was fooled by this one. Online paid surveys have been known to be a side hustle. It was popular in the beginning but now it’s getting a lot more difficult to make money from these blogs on survey websites like SurveyJunkie. I ended up trying it and I used it for around 2 months until I just couldn’t take it anymore and withdrew all the money I made from my account.

If you’re wondering, for the 2 months I had it I would say I used it once a week for 2 straight months. I only made 8 bucks.

I would pass on this one unless you want to go through the time and pain of taking these surveys for fifty cents every 10 minutes. Find another one and stay as far back as possible from these surveys.

Mystery Shopping

If you’ve ever applied to jobs online you probably have seen jobs offering applications to be a mystery shopper. It sounds fun getting paid to shop, what could be better than that? Well if it was really how they say it was, everyone would hop on board but it’s not what you think it is.

Mystery shopping is full of scammers and fake checks, it’s pretty much been denounced as an actual good side hustle to have. Don’t get me wrong I’m sure some mystery shopping roles are legit but I’d bet those chances are as low as you would get paid.

Daytrading

Another one that I thought would be an easy $100 a day turning out to be a loss of money. For those who don’t know, day trading is when you invest in the stock or cryptocurrency market and attempt to finish the day with a profit.

I decided to do day trading with stocks (a lot harder than the crypto market) ad ended up losing over $200. I never tried day trading crypto but with how I did with stocks, it’s safe to say I’m taking a break from day trading. It’s the riskiest thing you can do with your money and I had to find that out the hard way.

It’s near impossible to predict what is going to happen to the stock market. I would rather just use the stock market and invest long-term and not look back.

Uber and Lyft

There’s no wonder why the taxes and tips are so high for these drivers, most of them get paid under minimum wage at only $9 an hour (not including tips.)

Drivers were taking notice of this awful pay structure of these driving apps and left to find a different side hustle. In fact, Uber saw a 40% decrease.

You have to use your own car and waste gas, mileage, and oil just to drive these random people around. I feel bad for the late-night drivers who have to pick up these people who end up throwing up in their cars. Is it really worth it?

Takeaway

When you start to develop multiple sources of income, not only will you be empowered; you’ll get to use that money to pay off any sort of debt you owe and eventually build wealth.

Choose a good high-paying side hustle, if you get good at one try doing another one, and so on. As they say, the more the merrier. The more income you create for yourself the more you can spend to invest on yourself or the goals you want to complete.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this let me know by clapping and leaving a response down below. You can connect with me here and subscribe to my newsletter.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sean Peck

Online entrepreneur with a passion on business, social media marketing, music, and media

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.