Journal logo

Author's Final Note

This is how all Vocal stories "should" finish

By Graham CookePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2
2011 Weekend Road-trip

Now that I have your attention and a good, enticing photo placed in the upper lead-in, I shall proceed.

I want to show you what, in my professional opinion, is the best Author Final Note (block) to use in any story you submit to Vocal.

What is the best part of this story? I am allowing all that look at it, if they so choose, to copy and paste the “Final Author Note” (block) into all of their own stories on Vocal.

NOTE: There is no hidden or embedded script that will infect your computers or story pages. (laugh) If I wanted to infect or transmit a computer virus to someone’s device, website or story, there are easier ways for me to do it. I am a tech’ guy after all.

But, first, a word from “Editor Graham” (chuckle).

Editorial Note:

You likely realize that all Vocal story submissions, other than poems, must meet the requirement for a minimum of 600 words?

No? Well, I’d like to point out something, using what I call the “word salad” approach.

Because I had my original submission for this story kicked back to me by Vocal for revision to meet Word Count standards. The original story submission had a word count of 427 words. Originally, the story submitted was only the original first sentence to this story and everything after the Vocal Review Team (NOTE) below, well with minor edits such as including the second to fifth paragraphs prior to this Editorial Note. Author’s Final Note was too short.

Now, you may be wondering, “why submit such a short story?”

Well, the reason is simple. I had written the “extensive” Author Final Note section in one story and was copying it into other draft stories. Suddenly, I thought to myself: “I should not only keep a draft of this regularly but also pen a completely separate story for the benefit of other Vocal creators.” So, that is how the original story became so short. Plus, since I like to maintain focus on tasks, goals and targets, i.e. focussing on objectives of many varieties and topics, physical and meta-physical, real and virtual, to me the idea manifested itself nicely in a succinct and quick manner.

Thing is, what I dislike so very intensely, given my experience – career, education, teaching, writing, editing and publishing (read My Office Door Is Always Open and Me?) – is rambling on in print, online in an office intranet or on the internet.

I may get accused by my best friend of “rambling on” or being too verbose when I feel the need to talk about something with him especially when I’m trying to make a point. But when it comes to print media, I will not accept such behavior.

So, if I need to chop out any one segment of a story to place elsewhere as an independent story, then so be it!

Vocal Review Team (Note): New Word Count exceeds 1053.

Okay; now that the Editorial Note is complete, let me continue.

NOTE:

This is just my opinion. Never - I repeat, "never" - place your Vocal Ambassador link (photo) into the "required" lead-in image, video, url. It is bad form, i.e. "click bait," and demeaning to other well-meaning Vocal creators. It's my opinion. Accept it or not.

Read on for what I believe to be "the best" Author's Final Note to be ever written. All humility aside, I'm a professional writer, and I'm just trying to be helpful to other Vocal members and creators. I strive for perfection. This "Author's Final Note" section below has been revised by me now a total of eight (8) times. It may not be held by copyright to be mine. But it is my original work.

The best part of this story? I'm offering this "Author's Final Note" in boilerplate format to all Vocal members and creators to use - free of charge. Go ahead; copy and paste to your own creations. I leave the choice to you. But I suggest you modify the final Vocal Ambassador link to match your own; plus, the name link in item number one (1).

This is what I use in all my Vocal creations - now. I finish off with only the "About the Author" block and reference link which directs the reader to another story which is "my short biography." It is at the end of this "short biography" that I place the text you will see below - after the following "About the Author" block.

About the Author

Author's Final Note:

Dear reader; if you like my writing, I would sincerely appreciate you letting me know by selecting the Heart icon below. If you would like to leave any tip amount, this requires Vocal membership or having a Stripe account. Note:

The mention of tipping is not meant to influence you.

I never pass up free money.😊

I thank you, if you do.

Since I write in many genres, with different styles, in which my personal experience influences the content, you may be interested in other works of mine, especially here on Vocal. There are three ways of navigating to and (or) retain a list of my Vocal creations:

  • All present works I have written on the Vocal media platform are stored and indexed (by Vocal) in my library, i.e. author page, with my name Graham Cooke attached to it. Select the name in this paragraph or shown at the page bottom after scrolling down to be redirected to my library. No; nothing nefarious will occur when you "click" on the text.
  • Now, if you so wish to return to "my" author page, just bookmark it in your internet web browser.
  • To be kept up-to-date on my newer Vocal creations, instead of manually searching and selecting a browser bookmark for my author page, you can also choose to subscribe. However, subscribing requires being a Vocal member - the next paragraph assists in this regard. By selecting the Subscribe button below, you become subscribed to my Vocal author feed for new creations and have a quick link to my author page for searching previous works which you have not yet read. It does also increase the number of my Vocal member followers and let me know I'm being appreciated for my efforts on Vocal. With that said, I leave the choice of joining Vocal and subscribing to my author feed to you now.
  • NOTE:

    • If you're not already a member - free or paid - of Vocal, maybe you might like to become one. Vocal has many different "communities" where authors, musicians, photographers, videographers, and artists of all genres can get their story told.
    • There are so many topics and fields of interest for all readers, even if you choose to not attempt writing yourself.
    • Quick access to the Vocal sign-up page is obtained by selecting the image below - an Vocal Ambassador referral link.
    • For additional assistance, I can be found most days on any of a number Facebook groups set up by, and for, Vocal members.

    FYI: I don't get a dime for you clicking on the image below, not unless you stay a paid member for a minimum of three months. Just so you know, Vocal is currently - as of October 28, 2021 - offering, a 50% discounted membership at $4.99 per month for 3 months, with a bonus of $10 immediately deposited to the Vocal "PLUS" member's account "wallet." Just so you know, that is USD.

    advice
    2

    About the Creator

    Graham Cooke

    Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.