Journal logo

At A Loss (There Is A Light Always Shining)

Some Thoughts on Creation and The Effect of Friendship

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5

Introduction

I have done a few of these posts before and hopefully, it may help others in the same situation. It is a sort of writer's block but not writer's block in that I want to write something but I want to avoid the areas that I have recently written in so that is Fiction, Vocal Challenges, Music, Books, Literature and Poetry.

The music is Stevie Nicks covering Tom Petty's "Free Fallin'" which I didn't know existed. I was listening to Fleetwood Mac's "Tusk" but this came up and it is a favourite song of mine sung by a singer that I love too.

So where do I go?

So What Is This About?

I always want to write, it releases tension, and makes me feel better about myself.

I sometimes write about places I visit and things that I do, but today I have only walked briefly , seen a few cats and bought a few things including picking up a bag of drugs from the chemist. This is really a diary post so may be of no interest to you as you dip into it but then again I may give you ideas.

I started this last night and am now resuming it today. This morning I went out for a brief walk and on that walk I got ideas for things to write about, that is in addition to the lists of things that I already have, and that gave me a slight feeling of elation, knowing that I would be able to put those words down and share them with you.

It Is Sometimes Good To Go Off At The Deep End

There is one person to blame or congratulate for setting me off on this path of creation and writing and those in the know will know who that is (that is almost poetry isn’t it) and then over the past year I have received praise and encouragement and love from my friends and Vocal audience, and also had to deal with a few verbal attacks and nasty comments from people I now don’t speak to or communicate with, but the people I block are very few, as I always hope to be reconciled with people because together we can build things whereas if we fight we destroy things.

I’m sorry for my cod philosophising and not properly starting on this section.

There are lots of areas that I have zero expertise in. I do not rate myself at fiction, and my early attempts were always horror or darkness and then I tried one which was meant to be more about hope and people wanted more of that so there are now five stories in that series and I hope maybe one day to turn that into a book.

And that goes back to the person who I mentioned at the start of this section, thanks to them I now have three anthologies on Amazon and if you are quick you can download the first one for free if you have the Kindle or Kindle app, check the link below.

Before joining Vocal I had never written any poetry since school, but I have over two hundred poems published and a hundred of those have been anthologised on Amazon.

I have written advice on how to do things on Vocal, lots of dark and hopeful short stories and recently I was coerced into writing a series of dark poetry by my friend Dharrsheena, but I didn’t want them to be depressing so each time I try and take a word that can be a jumping off point for things that may scare us, so there is darkness but no sadness and depression.

Conclusion

I always want the best for everyone and some people are very important to me and I will always be there for them. I see so many people who, because they have been wronged, just break all connections on the premise that it’s easier to not waste effort on situations that may not benefit you. My belief is that if you put the work in you will always reap the benefits. It may take time but it will happen.

advicehistoryhumanityhow to
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Great story, Mike! I always enjoy learning more about your Vocal journey.

  • Did not expect to see my name in this piece, that was a pleasent surprise. And thank you for the dark poetry series. Hope for you to reach 50 soon and publish it into a book. Can't wait!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I am glad you find courage to say what you want say and write what you want to right. It’s always nice to have the right support system. I like watching people evolved and watch what influence them to happen. Thanks for sharing your journey through your writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.