Journal logo

All The Books I Read in June 2023

I read some really good books this month!

By Chloe GilholyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
28
I love bookshelf phone boxes. They are pleasing to look at!

Reading has been a chore for me last month, but I did end up buying some awesome books after getting some lovely recommendation. I also acquired some vouchers which I used to redeem books I had on my wishlist for ages.

Outside my bus stop from Oxford to Banbury was a cool bookshop where I picked this book up. I’ve seen it before and I really loved the title. When I read it, I felt immersed in a culture within the UK that I didn‘t know about. I loved it because it breaks a lot of stereotypes.

This is a book I stole from a pub toilet in Oxford Pride. It was right there by the window. I picked it up, popped it in my bag and forgot to return it. Very interesting book. Learned a lot from it. This book could be a lifesaver for trans people.

As it was pride month, I thought it would be a good time to pick up a book I bought but never read and this one was the thing thing I picked up. I liked the art. It is a cute book. I think I would have been able to follow the storyline more with more knowledge of the series.

Brendan O’Carroll is a cracking actor and writer. His character Mrs Brown is excellent and hes done a lot in his life. Mrs Brown is one of the funniest shows I have seen. I love the humour in it.

The boom was interesting but I did struggle to read. Every page felt like Donald Trump was a spoilt child and grew up to be a capitalist moron. I also got lost on who is related to who cause the Trumps are a big family and some of them share names.

I believe this is an indie book. I tried reading it and getting back to it many times but never connected with it. It’s worth noting here that I am reading an old and outdated version of the book. I was reading a free version from kindle that is at least 10 years old. However, I loved the sci-fi setting and the Matrix and Running Man vibes. I feel I should check out the uo to date version.

This is classic epic Greek poetry about the Trojan war. As a fan of history and poetry, I feel like I should appreciate and worship it. Some bits where interesting, but it just didn’t capture my attention.

I remember reading this on Wattpad a few years ago. It was one of my favourite books to read on Wattpad. I found it easy to read. I was happy to see it was published. Now I got an eternal copy should anything happen to Wattpad.

This book was on my wishlist for ages. I felt drawn to this book, not knowing what it was. It’s a great poetry book, which didn’t take long to read, but it left a big impression on me.

I had this on my wishlist for a long time. It is hard to find neurodivergent romance, and this fit the bill for me. I was hooked and I read it in one sitting. I really connected with both the characters in the couple and related to their struggles. I also have Indian ancestry through my maternal grandfather’s side, so having it set in India interested me.

I think I would never have discovered this if I hadn’t have used the library apps on my phone. I think the library apps have great potential, but it would be even better if there were more options to discover books you can’t find in a main library or bookstore. I thought this was a really charming book and liked the intergeneration gap, the time travel is handled brilliantly.

list
28

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    An intriguing selection of books read! I love that you just took one from the toilet! 😊 An amazing achievement for just one month. Kudos.

  • ANFAS9 months ago

    nice

  • Emano10 months ago

    my recent reading experiences have been a mix of highs and lows, but each book has left its own unique impression on me. It's a reminder of the power of literature to transport us, challenge our perspectives, and create lasting connections

  • Gokila10 months ago

    I agreed that bookshelf are pleasing to look at! 😍😍

  • ROCK 10 months ago

    What a diverse list! I have to admit I have read dutifully many of the so called, " Great Classics" and laughed outloud at your short and concise review of The Iliad.

  • JoyCabrera10 months ago

    Hello There I can see your post i found it really nice thanks for sharing with us. https://www.tellhappystar.org/ Thanks and regards, JoyCabrera

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    That autistic love story looks lovely!!! Great list! I love your diverse portfolio of books 🎉💕congrats on your top story!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Interesting choices. I feel like books are constantly finding me at the appropriate time. I call it book tarot. Congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • Lara hush10 months ago

    Great work

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I am inspired to read more from this list, adding some of these to mine! My rec Dopamine nation!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Enjoyed your books that you read!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Impressive achievement! Congratulations on your Top Story,

  • Great Books ❤️💯📝Thanks for sharing and 🎉😉💖Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    These days, my reading time has been reduced to the four to twenty minutes before the book hits me in the face when I fall asleep. I have to get back on track. Great piece. Congratulations!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Dang! I've been struggling through Stephanie Meyer's Midnight Sun since May LOL. Congrats on TS

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Ooooh how cool!! I’m going to have to check out Autistically Yours, sounds great!! Congrats on the Top Story! 👏👏

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I really need to read more. I just don't seem to find the time. This was a great piece though, and I like your commitment to reading and the fact you have very eclectic taste. Also subscribed and will take a dive into more of your work soon!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Your taste is eclectic, like mine. I enjoyed your list, and found a couple of interest. Good on you for being a voracious reader!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.