Journal logo

Ah, Shit... Here We Go Again

Please don't let 2024 be an absolute chore.

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 5 min read
4
Bich Tran on Pexels

Oh god another new year, another round of resolutions never to be completed, but as Vocal wants us to write what we may or may not achieve...here's mine?

1. Learn French:

Languages are one of the most fascinating things for me, especially translation. You can have one word in English, translate it into German, then translate it back and boom, you've got thirty words for one word. When I spent some time in Sweden, I discovered there wasn't any word for the word please in Swedish. The closest thing you'll get is snålla or tack (which also means thank you). Besides this, the additional four vowels in Swedish completely bewildered me. What do you mean there are nine vowels?

Swedish is actually 1/3 English, 1/3 French and 1/3 German, and is one of the few languages without its foundations born from Latin, despite each third having done so. Which brings me to my first resolution, learn French. I found out a few years ago that I was 25% French, which came as a surprise. However, I soon found out that most of the U. K have French, German and Scandinavian ancestral backgrounds. Making up more of our genetics than Anglo-Saxon, or Briton/Celtic. And you'd never hazard a guess what my background is? Yep, all bloody three.

You can read more into it here:

Although I am not yet fluent in Swedish, I am still learning as much as I can. It just makes sense to me naturally, to learn French. They are our geopolitical neighbours, after all...

I had a bit of a knack for French at school, but modern languages weren't a cool thing to do, and as like most teens, I didn't want to be seen as uncool, so didn't bother keeping it up. Until my higher education, I finally realised the significance of modern languages in an age of interconnectivity. I joined the global citizen scheme at university, which I am now a Global Citizen alumni (GC). I even dedicated my thesis to the concept of inter-culturalism and intercommunicative dialogue.

Why not learn a language? What is there to lose?

2. Gain More Weight:

I've always had problems with weight gain. Ask anyone who knows me in real life to describe my appearance and they'd probably say small and very skinny. I realised I had a problem with my weight when I came across the Channel 4 documentary 'Nikki Grahame: Who Is She?' (2022), and my world flipped on its head. I wrote an article about this which you can find here:

It took me a good six months to build up the courage to see a doctor, and thankfully, I did. Fast forward to 2023. 2023 healthy me, is what I told myself. I spoke to my GP about my relationship with food and struggles to gain a healthy body weight. I told her how I hated being able to see my bones, and how clothes would not fit me as they should. I could, at 25/26, fit into teen sized clothing.

No wonder, as my BMI was 14. I was dangerously underweight, and immediately had to have blood tests, an ECG and a recognised eating disorder, albeit non-specific. I didn't realise I was that bad. Over the course of the year, I have gained weight because of pregnancy, yet despite this, I am still underweight. I am about to pop at any moment and I'm scared my old habits will die hard and take me out with them. So I am motivated to gain more weight for the sake of my two sons.

And that's number two. Rest in Peace Nikki and thank you.

3. Finish that Damn Book:

Novel writing, a long and painful art of storytelling that I know many of us here at Vocal, will be familiar with. I am, of course, currently writing a novel called the White Lady of the Iron Bridge. In the early summer of 2023, I unintentionally opened up a rabbit hole filled with Victorian scandals and heartbreaking tragedies simply by looking into a local legend. I have always been interested in the origins of stories. What inspired them to be made in the first place? Is there an element of truth that led to such a story? And if so, what is it?

I had absolutely no incline that my Lets Talk Ladies Walk article would have such a response. Becoming my most read article with almost 1.5k reads. You can read it here:

Once I started diving in, head first into said rabbit hole, and uncovered things I didn't know where there, it turns out no-one knew it was there. This whole time, her story had fallen into legendary status and reduced to a simple ghost story. So that is what my novel is all about, the story of the white lady, and uncovering her identity. Be sure to look out for it!

So I ask vocalists and creatives a like to poke me in the messages (Twitter) and ask, have you finished the book yet? And just keep asking until one day I say yes, thanks.

4. Reach 200 Subscribers and 5k Reads:

I am 25 subscribers away from 200 and less than 500 reads away from 5k. It's a small goal which I am close to, huzzah! I figured it would be a good thing to add, as it is achievable and within reach.

I aim to do this by posting more regularly at scheduled times, and upping my social media presence as a writer and a disability activist. I enjoy writing many things, so stick around if you like it. Don't forget to follow me on Twitter. I'm always there:

And if you come from Twitter, welcome, please subscribe here, it's free and full of wonderful kind writers!

5. Quit the Vape:

I know, don't start. But you've gotta give it to me. I was smoking cigs for nearly ten years, ew. And over night I quit because of a single vape. Incredible. But now I need to take it one step further and quit entirely. Not just for the sake of my health or my sons, but also the environment. They are really damaging and the harvesting of batteries is cruel and wicked, and I want no part in it. Especially when my money is going towards funding these corporate giants who force children living in deprived areas to work in deadly mines. No, just fucking no.

So I'm quitting. That's it. There's no more to be said on this one.

Actually, I think 5 main goals for 2024 are plenty, some are life changing after all. So there you have it: Vocal, my New Year's resolutions. And please maybe just once let me place in a challenge, just once.

_________________________________________________

Thank you for taking your time to read my work. It means a lot to me, and I really appreciate every like and comment.

If you like what I do, feel free to leave a tip, show some love and don't forget to subscribe, help me get to 200!

And as always;

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed! :)

Vocalsocial mediahumanity
4

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelsey Clarey4 months ago

    Happy New Year! These are all great goals to have.

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    Love, LOVE your resolutions. great reading.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.