Journal logo

After books review

Is it worth reading all five?

By Megan Ollie WilliamsPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Author : Anna Todd Year Published : 2014

Genre / Tags : Romance, Contemporary, New Adult

Formats : Paperback, eBook, Audiobook

No. of Pages : 582 pages (Paperback)

I've avoided this series for a long time. When it originally came out, I recall hearing that it was a Harry Styles fanfiction brought to life. Because I used to create fanfiction, I was interested in the notion that it might be a best-selling book like others before it ("Fifty Shades of Grey") which was something i enjoyed reading.

I saw the phenomenon that followed, including the book spinoffs, the movie adaptation, and the hype that this series received, but I was just not drawn in. When the movie came out last year. I didn't want to read it because everyone said it was terrible, so I decided not to.

something then just clicked and I read the first and second books in their entirety. I then finished the third book in its entirety on Monday. then the fourth and fifth this only took me a week.

These books did not have the best writing, but Ever After Happy, the final one, was by far the best written and put together. The other books seemed rushed and all over the place, and the most annoying thing for me was how often the story was the same.

Let me explain if you've never heard of these books. When Tessa Young attends college, she meets Hardin Scott, a bad boy. They fall in love and become almost completely dependent on one another toxic right. The book is nearly identical to Twilight & Fifty Shades.

The fourth book, on the other hand, was very different, and I think that almost made me more angry. There was a lot of back and forth, but it wasn't nearly as satisfying. I'll be honest: I was really disappointed with the book's direction, but in the end, there was a nice little bow, which is something I'm grateful for.

The story glorifies abusive relationships, which Tessa finally calls out in the final book, which is one of the main issues. On both sides, this was a very emotionally and mentally abusive relationship! Reading it was a very upsetting and irritating experience. It was so intense that I felt like I was in the relationship while I was reading.

When I finished the last book, I wept because the story had a wonderful and satisfying conclusion. Just getting there took a very long time—far longer than was necessary. This could have easily been a trilogy. If they had been edited properly, the second and third books could have been combined into one.

Did I enjoy these novels? I did indeed. I've never encountered a book that made me feel like this. They are very much a part of me that I either love or hate.

Do these books meet my standards? Yes, read them if you can handle bad writing, young relationships that hurt you emotionally, and losing your mind for a few days.

I'm glad I read these books because they moved me, but I doubt I'd ever read them again. Because I'm so drained by the plot, I'm even skeptical of the movies. * Additionally, the first film was awful. I don't recall ever seeing a worse film adaptation. They missed so much, and the story was just different. It horrified me.

I suppose this post was more of a venting session than a review because I really needed to express all of my emotions.

peace

M

book review

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Ollie Williams is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

MOWWritten by Megan Ollie Williams

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.