Journal logo

A Walking Red Flag

Fallen For A Red Flag

By Dristin VanderleiPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2

It was Sunday night I just got outta the movies and decided to walk around for awhile. I first walked into the bookstore debating what book I should get. I walked out with no book, I already have one I need to finish. When the bookstore closed it was pouring rain outside and lighting, so I walked into a gamestop in order to wait for the rain to calm down. I mean I don't know if I am that lucky to get struck by lightning, but you never know.

So as I walked into the gamestop I was greeted by this pretty girl. Yes, she was pretty but I didn’t really like her. I just saw her as a crazy person. She had piercing’s everywhere, her nose, her lips, her tongue. She had colorful long hair. To me she seemed pretty average.

As I was looking at games she started to talk to me. I couldn’t really understand what she was saying until she said “Am I mumbling, I feel like I’m mumbling.”

“Just a little bit” I said

From that moment she started talking up a storm.

She was telling me how her kids keep her awake all the time, and how exhausted she was. I acted like I cared. She begin to show me the monster (The Drink) that was keeping her awake. I found myself actually becoming very interested in her story.

But everything she was pretty much telling me was every red flag in the book. As she was talking to me I was pretending to look at games, but I was actually interested to talk to her. She was telling me how her kids act and how her boyfriend treats her, and how she is in a polygamous relationship. I remember totally thinking this chick is wild. She was telling me how she wants a guy that will know how to treat her right, and how if she does find a guy they need to know that her kids come first. She even pulled out a vape. She was telling me about all her medical problems, like I can’t even remember everything that she told me. I could also tell just by looking at her eyes she was very high, like I knew she was smoking something. I knew that this girl was a walking red flag.

But I liked her.

Don’t ask me why, cause I couldn’t tell you. Maybe it was her whole back story, everything she told me about her childhood and such, I felt maybe we were both connected in some way. Maybe it was when she was explaining to me about her dad how she is in pretty much in a life competition with him. Or maybe it was just cause she was plain crazy. I find it really weird how such things can happen, I usually have problem giving girls my number, this girl I had to force myself not to give her my number.

Maybe that’s what it was she was extremely easy to talk to, like in a way she was venting to me about her life, but all I had to do was listen. Maybe that is what caused that chemical in my brain to fall for a walking red flag.

On my whole drive back home I found myself thinking about her. I was actually a little upset that night. She was crazy and wild just from spending that short time, but she was nice, that could have been it, maybe it was cause of just that, her being nice. I mean yes she may had tons of other problems but dang there was just something about her. I am pretty sure we have all been there, where you know someone is just to crazy and wild for you, but you are like there is something about her.

I see that day as a moment that I will think about years from now, thinking what would happen if I did give her my number, how much different my life could have turned out if I fell for a walking red flag.

P.S.

I just felt like writing about something so I looked for a small moment in my life, that I found interesting thank you to everyone who reads it!!!

literaturehumanityadvice
2

About the Creator

Dristin Vanderlei

I'm Dristin someone who found his passion for writing when I was kid and fell in love with movies, once I figured out I could basically just tell my own stories I been writing ever since. Appreciate if you check out my writings plz comment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.