Journal logo

Meaninglessness

The Beauty in meaninglessness

By Dristin VanderleiPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Dad cracks an egg into a pan while making his coffee, and Grandma stands near the table, searching for the pill she needs to take. Dad becomes irritated with her inability to figure it out. Grandma then begins to explain how she struggles to understand how older people like her can continue living without children and family.

As I observe this scene, I can't help but wonder what the purpose of it all is. It seems as though people are just like insignificant flies on a wall in some way. I feel a sense of insignificance, as if no one is truly special, not even celebrities. Ultimately, we are all destined to face our mortality one day, just like anyone else.

But perhaps that is what makes us special: the fact that we are aware of our mortality. We all acknowledge the inevitable conclusion that awaits us, and I believe it is precisely this awareness that adds beauty to everything. The transient nature of existence, the knowledge that nothing is permanent, is what lends life its profound beauty.

However, some individuals struggle with this reality. They find it difficult to accept the impermanence of everything, and it can drive them to the brink of insanity.

Perhaps the contemplation of death can be a catalyst for people to seek solace in religion. The fear and uncertainty surrounding mortality can indeed be overwhelming, prompting individuals to turn to religious beliefs as a means to avoid confronting the concept of nothingness after death. They yearn for the reassurance of an afterlife, such as a heavenly realm, even though the existence of such a place remains uncertain.

While individuals may assert the existence of these realms, the reality is that we cannot be certain of their actuality.

I understand your sentiment. The idea of going to a better place after death can indeed provide comfort and a sense of hope. However, it is important to acknowledge that the nature of what comes after death remains unknown to us. It would be unwise to confidently assume that there is a specific destination awaiting us after we pass away. The uncertainty surrounding the afterlife invites us to contemplate the mysteries of existence with humility and an open mind.

In my head, I find peace in nothingness, knowing that everything is temporary, and we need to appreciate it more. The idea of going somewhere after death drives me to insanity because it would render everything here on Earth meaningless. What's the purpose of getting up in the morning if I can simply claim that I'm bound for heaven or hell when I die? The notion of religion perplexes me, while the concept of nothingness resonates much more logically.

So, I believe that as individuals, we should find joy in every little thing as much as possible. I don't think we should embrace religion out of a fear of death, but rather because it genuinely appeals to us. I think it's important to follow a religious path if it piques our interest and brings us peace of mind when we go to sleep at night.

I want everyone to discover the serenity in meaninglessness, to relish the moment when your dad cracks an egg in the pan or to simply listen to your grandmother talk about something that may not hold personal significance for you. I encourage you to appreciate the moments of frustration surrounding you, even when people express frustration with you. Understand that these experiences are what make life truly special because, ultimately, we are all here by chance.

I firmly believe that once you grasp the art of savoring those moments and learning to derive joy from them, that's when true happiness reaches its pinnacle. It won't be easy, but therein lies the beauty of it all. The beauty lies in discovering the inherent beauty within meaninglessness itself.

religionliteraturehumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Dristin Vanderlei

I'm Dristin someone who found his passion for writing when I was kid and fell in love with movies, once I figured out I could basically just tell my own stories I been writing ever since. Appreciate if you check out my writings plz comment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.