Journal logo

A Pointless Pursuit of Respect and Merit

What must we do to be seen as a figure with merit and respect

By Vanessa MarshallPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
https://akm-img-a-in.tosshub.com/indiatoday/images/story/202112/priscilla-du-preez-4Gi3H-4evlk_1200x768.jpeg?awjmX2A2b_RbaIxJmCAseMtkYvDgP5yz&size=770:433

What I love most about my college classes and professors is the merit my words have with them compared to my social, work, and personal life. I mean to say, at what point in my educational career will my words and advice actually have merit with people?

I am turning 28 this year and, where I may be a bit behind in pursuing my college education, I have always been treated as an ignorant and childish person. It didn’t matter what experiences in life I had, or what mini-classes I took through OCCRRA. My educational status has always been seen as less-than and unimportant.

Having found a passion and drive in childcare I decided to pursue my Child Development Associates in preschool (3-5 y/o) which I officially received in August of 2021 which involves, not just how to teach preschoolers about their ABCs, shapes, numbers, and so on, but also about a child's psychological and cognitive development. Receiving this led me to find my deeper passion in child psychology. So, I began my pursuit for a bachelor’s degree in child psychology in the fall of 2021.

I have gone through class after class and received all A's based off of my written words and research. I’ve given even more hours of reading, writing, and research into my studies in my personal time (between working and going to school full-time, my personal time is quite limited). I’ve even received a spot on the Presidents list this past term.

I can tell you milestones that are appropriate, set-back, and excelled in children’s developmental stages. I've put hours of reading and studies into theorists like Freud, Erikson, Piaget, Bronfenbrenner, and Montessori.

I have worked hard, and continue to work hard, for my education and development in the field of childcare and child psychology.

Even still, most people in my personal and social life still seem to see me as ignorant or as though I’m talking about things without merit. I've put my knowledge to practice in my work as a pre-kindergarten teacher just as much as I have in my personal life (nieces, nephews, friends’ children, etc.).

I'm not saying, in any way, that I know better than any moms or dads!

What I am saying is I know what the hell I'm doing when you decide to trust me with the care of your child.

Don’t get me wrong, I will always follow a parent’s preference in activities or food consumption and will never overstep a parents preferences thinking I can raise them better. That’s not what this is about.

This is about the things I observe in children that always lead to the same outcome unless one takes the initiative to make changes. When I give advice, however, or different approaches and insights towards a child’s development, please know I mean it to make things more beneficial for the growth and development of your child(ren) as well as for you. I know I tend to rant on and on about how I feel you should try to do things differently (when it comes to behavioral aspects and approaches) and I know it may come off as pretentious or naggy, and if you want to toss that information away and ignore me, fine.

But I'm still going to blurt out the information anyway.

I'm pursing child psychology for a reason: Because we all too often forget what it's like to be a child. Children need someone on their side who understands they are not little adults and they have limitations on their abilities. They are children. They are still developing socially, emotionally, cognitively, psychologically, and physically. Children can’t multitask the way we do. The obvious isn’t always as obvious to them either. Just because a child can say full sentences and talk back with sass and attitude, doesn't mean your expectations of their abilities should exceed their actual abilities.

I also know that I am not an all-knowing child development professional (yet). I know there are those who do know more about it than me, and I'm always down to discuss this subject because it is my passion. I want to know all I can about this subject and hear debates and opinions as opposed to condescending remarks and comments regarding my education on the matter.

I may not have a bachelors yet, but I do have a CDA and an education in pursuit.

So, again I ask, at what point will my words have merit?

At what point am I seen as someone who can be trusted, listened to, and worthy of guiding you. I’ve been in this field for over 3 and a half years and have made it a point to educate myself legitimately as well as my personal time and investment into this matter.

I want to help people, but most importantly, I want to help children. I want to make a difference for families and their child(ren)’s developmental health both physically and psychologically. I want to help guide you, not overstep you. What do I have to do to be considered worthy of your time?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Vanessa Marshall

“If you love a flower, don’t pick it up.

Because if you pick it up it dies and it ceases to be what you love.

So if you love a flower, let it be.

Love is not about possession.

Love is about appreciation.” -Osho

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.