Journal logo

A Facebook Heart on a Vocal Story

Correlation Between Likes And Reads On Facebook And Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
11
Did You Like It?

The Initial Vocal Audience

While our Vocal Facebook Groups are a wonderful audience and great for getting some reads, appreciation and feedback for your post, you need to find audiences external to even these wonderful groups if your want more reads (and therefore more money from Vocal). This is just about a minor observation on two album reviews,

Spreading My Wings With Van Morrison

I reviewed “Astral Weeks” by Van Morrison and posted it in a Van Morrison group that I joined. I got a great response from it with lots of positive comments, so I thought I would follow it up with a review of the follow-up album “Moondance”. If you click on the album names it will take you to the actual posts.

While the second review had some great comments again there were a few complaints about a comparison of the two albums although I was only saying that “Moondance” was better received because of its more standard structure, and the two are both absolute masterpieces.

At the moment each post has over a hundred likes, mostly hearts, and between them around sixty comments. The number of comments seem to reflect the number of reads and engagements that my stories got in the group, and this is probably true in the Vocal Facebook Groups for any posts you might share in them.

Vocal Reads But Not As Many Vocal Hearts

By sharing them externally to Vocal you will get reads if you hit the right groups although not Vocal Hearts, they only come from Vocal members, though I have a few where the Vocal Hearts are double what the Vocal read count and these are on actual stories, so I am not sure if some Vocal members think that dropping in and hearting counts as a read, although there are areas of Vocal that have problems with numbers, especially the Stats list.

My biggest post with external reads is “The Invincibles” which I shared on a Preston North End site but the reads stopped when it was moved from the main thread to a subordinate one. You can read it below.

Then my tenth most read is my one on Nigel Blackwell of Half Man Half Biscuit which I posted on either the home page or the lyric project site, I actually found it on the latter after a Google search here. This has 115 reads, but 8 Vocal hearts and this will happen when you share your stories externally, but you will still get paid the same.

Search Engine Optimisation

I see people eulogising SEO but this often means compromising your writing to get noticed, but if you don’t get it right you are compromised with no benefit. I have tried two experiments in this, one hit 1100 reads the other got 33 and I am still not sure why one worked and the other didn’t.

Conclusion on Vocal Hearts and Reads

Self-promotion is a hassle because it involves doing something that is not actually creative. While our Vocal Facebook Groups provide a solid encouraging base they will not give you a huge amount of reads.

I think all of us have a primary focus of creating and Vocal is a very good platform for that, but when you sign up they tell you that it is up to you to promote your work.

You will only get exposure on Vocal if you get a Top Story, are among the Challenge winners or are featured in a Spotlight.

The Vocal Facebook Groups were an absolute godsend for me. Without them, I would have had virtually no audience or support.

❤️ 🧡 💛 💚 The Groups Who I Love ❤️ 🧡 💛 💚

product review
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat2 years ago

    Good article, Mike! Actually SEO is VERY important. You are right in saying that if you do it wrong, it won't work. Good SEO not just about keywording. It's about linking to previous, relevant articles, including good and solid resources to back up your writing, curating, etc. It will tell search engines that your content is the answer people may be looking for, leading to indexing at the top of search results. Self-promotion is only a hassle if you see it that way. Over the years, I have learnt to have fun with it. I am very active on Twitter and engage with people a lot. So, many opportunities to share my relevant articles with others arise.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.