Journal logo

A Different New Year's Resolution

I Got This!

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My family

Like many people, I wear many hats. I am a wife and mother first and foremost. I work part-time at a veterinary hospital. I also run a small freelance writing business. My family also has a small farm, so there is always something that needs to be done.

As you can see, my life is pretty full. I try to do everything, and do it all well. We like to spend time as a family, though it is also important to put my children to bed and spend real quality time with my husband.

And as everyone knows, the world has changed over the last two years. I have had to help my children through schooling at home, as well as homework. Even when they are in school, there is always homework. This has been a major struggle and stressor in my life.

Then, with the pandemic, the job that I have always loved has changed. Most days, it is a struggle to get up enough energy to go to work. The number of animals that need care is overwhelming. Our schedule is full for weeks, which means that we have to squeeze in appointments every day with sick animals who need us.

For months, we worked curbside, which added even more work for us. We would have to go out in the parking lot, get the animals, bring the animals in, go in and out to discuss the case, and then finally get payment and send them on their way. Even a simple appointment takes longer than ever.

I try to spend a few hours a week writing. I write at several sites, trying to help my family make ends meet. Some weeks are better. There are weeks when I can devote a few hours to it, while others I don't have time to pick up my laptop.

Then, there is the farm. I have quite a few chickens (probably more than I should). I have a flock of Buff Orphingtons and a flock of Seramas (the miniature chickens). The goal is to have chicks next spring for sale.

I also have my goats. I have a herd of eight goats. Kidding season is on! We have had several babies already this year, some good and some bad. That leads to some late nights and getting up multiple times a night to check on the babies.

Two of the babies

As a family, we raise corn and hay to help cut costs when it comes to feeding the crew. There is also plenty of work around the farm, year-round.

So, that brings us to the New Year. As most people make New Year's Resolutions, they focus on their weight and outward appearances. I am going to do something different.

My goal for this year is to focus on my mental health. I need to take better care of myself this year. When I need extra time to myself, I am just going to have to do it. If I want to spend an hour reading, I am just going to curl up with a good book. When I need a little more sleep, I am going to go for it. I have to focus on myself (as much as I focus on everyone else).

Now that we are a few days past the first of the year. I must admit that it is hard to focus on myself. However, I have had a headache for the past few days. I have been taking care of everyone and getting through work. Yesterday, I had a full day off. I put the kids on the bus, took a hot shower, and climbed back into bed. I spent the entire day relaxing, trying to get rid of my headache. Then, my entire family was in bed by seven-thirty. I was asleep by nine, and I feel MUCH better. This is one resolution that I need to stick to!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.