Journal logo

Why Your Blog Needs Pictures

And Where You Can Get Them

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

So, I was recently talking about getting sued over pictures with your blog. To me, this seems crazy because all you are doing is using pictures to enhance your blog. However, the truth is that someone could sue you over the fact that you are using their pictures. They own them, so you have no right to use them.

You might be thinking that it would be easy to solve this problem. Just don’t use pictures. Why do blogs even need pictures? Good question!

So, I started off by searching the web and couldn’t really find any good answers. This really struck me as odd. No one wrote anything about why pictures are necessary for blogs! Not one person that I could find! Interesting!

So, here are some of the reasons why I think that you need pictures throughout your blog.

Well, images are the most shared on social media sites. The only exception to that is video. Vlogs (video blogs) are gaining in popularity. Maybe one day I will try that, though I am highly doubtful since I do most of my blogs at six in the morning. Who needs to see the black underneath my eyes?

Pictures add something to your blog. They break up your writing and add a little something for your readers. Don’t you like to read blogs with pictures? I know that I do. Usually the picture on Facebook actually makes me click on the story to see what the picture has to do with the article.

I posted the question to my fellow writers at BlogMutt (now Verblio). I wanted to know what their opinions are.

One person said that images are helpful because they show up in the links when blogs are shared, and that is what draws people to read your blogs. This is true. There are plenty of pictures that intrigue me so much that I just HAVE to read the story.

Another person shared a lot of what I wrote above. They break up the story, making it easier to read. They add a little extra to your blog. Most people are visual people and only will read things if they have pictures.

We live in a visual world, so add some pictures and make your blog stand out today! However, the next step is to figure out where you can get some for free.

I decided to start researching where you can get pictures for your blog. WOW! A long list came up of definitions. They don’t even make sense to me. Some pictures can be altered. Some can’t. With some of the pictures, you need to credit the creator. Others, you do not.

To me, it seems safest, to take your own pictures. I think that is what I am going to do. I am just going to have to get creative with my pictures. There has to be different ways to tie in pictures with my blogs. People love pictures of boys and animals, right? I will also have to start taking more pictures and start to think outside the box. I can do that.

Photo Courtesy of Canva

I am also going to keep using Canva.com since they are pretty reasonable. I really like using them. I am sure that I will find other places to use too. I will keep you informed if I do. If you know of any other places, let me know.

So, it is important to remember that you need to use pictures in your blog, especially if you want to bring more people to your website. However, you don't want to get sued over using the wrong pictures. It is better to take your own, or try a program like Canva to help you with your design.

business
1

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.