Journal logo

55 jobs and counting

Part 1

By Luke Simpson Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Yes it’s true, I have worked about 55 jobs and I am only thirty three years old. I started working as a petsitter when I was fourteen years old. I would watch snakes, dogs, cats, hamsters and more for side cash. Job number one was easy, fun, got paid cash money, under the table, tax free. It was a great first job and I learned a lot about responsibilities and working hard and taking care of animals and learning about them.

The second job was a cart pusher at a local grocery store when I was fifteen. I would go to the parking lot and grab tons of carts and bring them back to the cart corral and then id take a break to pee, and then repeat for six hours a day. Easy job but mind numbing and boring as hell.

My third job was at the same place , but I moved up to being a bagger. I would bag up groceries and walk them out and load them in the car and hope I get a decent tip afterwards, rinse and repeat for eight hours. All three jobs were at the Air Force Academy.

My next job was at A baskin Robbins in San Antonio. I was the cashier and ice cream guy and I loved it at first. I didn’t get free ice cream and even though I made killer tips my manager would always steal them. I made a complaint to corporate and I ended up getting fired for some bullshit reason, even though the lady who stole hundreds of dollars of tips got to stay at her job. May that manager choke on a dick and die. I can only hope. So that’s the fourth job.

It had a food court with pizza and a Burger King, so I always ate good and spent probably half my paycheck on food lol. It also had an arcade so again more money just gone lol. After I got fired I became a bagger at another grocery store on the Air Force base which is called a commissary. So my fifth job was back at the store, making tips and decent money. I once got a twenty dollar tip and a lot of five dollar tips so it averaged out pretty good.

My sixth job was at a stall selling personalized necklaces that can be engraved with names and pictures, mainly for people who come to see their kid graduate from the Air Force boot camp. It was boring but I did learn how to sell to tourists really good.

My seventh job was at a mini store front selling hip hop t shirts, grills, posters and more. It was connected to the job selling necklaces but in a different building. It was right next to a comic book store, so I ended up spending most of my time reading comic books until a customer came in, then I’d walk over and try and sell shit. I did get fired because I closed the shop down so I could play pinball for a while and it just happened to be the same day my boss came by for a suprise visit, so I did get fired for the second time.

I then had my eighth job at Sonics, working the grill. The first day my trainer was smoking a cigar while training me. It was unprofessional to say the least. People would openly sell weed to customers and employees as well, and I just wanted to be a cashier, not sweat my ass off cooking burgers. I ended up quitting a few weeks later due to crappy co workers, low pay, and no free food which I had hoped for.

So in to job number nine. I sold liquor at a liquor store on a military base, and kegs and so on. It was connected to a home and garden store, so I would work over there as well, being a cashier and helping with misc shit as well. I quit after a few months due to boredom, and then worked at a gas station afterwards.

So job number ten, and it was great eating cheap hot dogs and ringing up gas, but my manager would blame me if someone was to pump gas and run off without paying, since it was my job to watch them and ring up customer’s and answer questions, and a million other jobs at the same time. I quit before I got fired and also died from eating cheap hot dogs every day.

Job number 11 I worked at the place I previously worked at, but now as a stock boy. I would get there at six am, and work til two or three. I would use a forklift and bring boxes to the floor and stock shelves, toys, garden shit, and random seasonal shit. It was okay, manager was shit, and the supervisor was a lesbian who hated men, and me in particular. I went to a super long meeting, and then took a break afterwards, and got fired because apparently the monthly meeting that’s required also counts a large a break. It was dumb but I did meet the nicest guy named Betty. He had big tits that was his first step to becoming a woman, and he fixed bikes all day and assembled them.

Job number twelve I was a plumber helper doing new construction for college campuses building new dorms. I’d help put the pipes in for sinks and tubs and get supplies and equipment and so on. I did that for a few months getting paid cash under the table, and maybe got High a few times on plumbers glue unintentionally of course. I would also help him at his house building a new addition and putting in doors and windows as well.

career
Like

About the Creator

Luke Simpson

I love writing poems, short stories, fiction, non fiction and just the art of writing in and of itself. Books and stories are the key to learning and using your imagination to travel to far and distant lands.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.