Journal logo

5 Tips for Attracting More Readers With a Killer First Sentence.

Attract readers from the beginning

By Sam H ArnoldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
5 Tips for Attracting More Readers With a Killer First Sentence.
Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

In a society with a short attention span, getting it right from the start is essential. So how do you draw people in to read what you have written? It is simple; you write a killer first line.

When writing an article, I spend as much time on the first line as I do on the headline. Both are essential to pull readers in. My first line is not always the first line I write. Sometimes I get into the writing and then revisit the first line.

Here are a couple of killer first lines from famous books.

I’m pretty much fucked. - Andy Weir, The Martian

If you have read the book or seen the film, you pretty much know this line sums up the story.

I’ll make my report as if I told a story, for I was taught as a child on my homeward that truth is a matter of the imagination - Ursula K. LeGuin, The Left Hand of Darkness

Now I have never read this book, but the book is on my wish list after this first line.

How do you write your killer first line?

If it fits in with the genre of your book, make your first line surprising and funny,

It was a pleasure to burn - Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

Start in the middle of the action. Every event that happens from this point is the story and should be in chronological order. Everything that happened before your first line is backstory and can be told in any order you want. Margaret Atwood’s Handmaids Tale starts as the world is in turmoil. Everything that happened before this point is a backstory.

The Man in Black fled across the desert, and the Gunslinger followed. - Stephen King, The Gunslinger

Start with dialogue that intrigues the reader. We do not need to know who the character is or even their name. If you start with witty, quick dialogue, the reader will want to find these things out and read on

I told you last night that I might be gone sometime, and you said, Where, and I said, To be with the Good Lord, and you said, Why, and I said, Because I’m old, and you said, I don’t think you’re old. - Marilynne Robinson, Gilead

Start with conflict, a situation where the reader does not know where the writing is going. How will the character get out of this situation? Where could this story be going?

Many years later, as he faced the firing squad, Colonel Aureliano Buendia was to remember that distant afternoon when his father took him to discover ice. - Gabriel Garcia Marquez, 100 Years of Solitude

Start with a provocative line that will have more than half the readers arguing with you. Be careful not to make this line so evocative that people refuse to read on. Make the line provocative enough for people to want to read on.

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife. - Jane Austin, Pride and Prejudice

Recently I have become somewhat obsessed with first lines. When I read, I analyse the first lines to see what drew me in.

I also examine books I didn’t finish to see what I didn’t like about their first lines. I keep a journal of first lines from books.

If you have read this far then, I did okay with my first line. It is essential to remember reading is subjective. What one person will love, another will hate. The only thing you can hope for is to appeal to more people than not.

If you enjoyed this article, please follow me, share it and give it a like. As a writer tips mean a great deal to me, so a massive thank you if, you send one.

advice
3

About the Creator

Sam H Arnold

Writing stories to help, inspire and shock. For all my current writing projects click here - https://linktr.ee/samharnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.