Journal logo

5 stories I think *could* be Little Black Book Challenge Winners!

My picks of stories I think have a could have chance of winning, and why!

By Lili JanePublished 3 years ago β€’ 8 min read
Top Story - March 2021
132
5 stories I think *could* be Little Black Book Challenge Winners!
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Have you been reading through the entries to the Little Black Book Challenge, wondering who is going to win?

For me, this is a bit of a challenge. I want to see if I can pick who might win the top places of the LBB Challenge. In my 9–5, I work in non-fiction editing ... so I would like to think I might be able to pick out some of the best submissions (but time will tell!).

Disclaimer: Obviously I haven't read ALL of the 8,500+ submissions! But I have tried to read a lot and pick some of the ones that particularly stood out.

As a writer, it's way too easy to get caught up in your own self-promotion, your own stats. But the best way to improve is to learn from other people!

Jilana Booker encouraging all of us in her recent article to be better readers who engage, not just writers who publish!

I've had some thoughts ... and Jilana's article inspired me to share them :)

So what makes a story stand out to me?

Please note that these are my personal opinions, and have nothing to do with views the Vocal Curators or the Judges, who make the final call. If nothing else, I hope these point might help writers refine their content

4 things I'm looking out for

By Austin Chan on Unsplash

1. A unique take on the story prompts or unique plot lines

How do they integrate the Little Black Book and the $20,000? Does the ending surprise me? Did I see it coming? Is the story idea original?

2. High quality writing

Does the story show me the world, rather than tell me? Is the writing style evocative?

e.g. She woke up early and drank coffee to stay awake.

OR The coffee was hot, bitter, and exactly the perk her brain needed to switch on at this unreasonable hour.

3. Stories that keep me engaged until the end

Is the writing tight and well constructed? Does the story have good pace?Am I emotionally invested in the characters? Is there some sort of mystery that has been introduced or hinted at that I want to find out?

4. Stories that stay with me

Did the story have an idea that I kept lingering in my mind? That is a good sign!

I wish Vocal had the option to save stories, or a you could see list of all the stories you have hearted β€” that would have made writing this article SO much easier! But probably the stories you remember is also a good indication of the best ones.

3 things that make me more likely to lose interest

By Magnet.me on Unsplash

1. Anything cliche.

If a story relies on an overused writing trope, it is less appealing. However, if a story takes a trope and challenges or inverts it in some way, that is instantly more interesting. There's plenty of writing tips on this point around, e.g. 9 Common Character Tropes and Tips for Avoiding Them

2. Stories that don't use paragraphs effectively

Most people are reading on their mobiles ... a paragraph should not require heaps of scrolling. Think of the people who post 100s of words in Facebook comments ... no matter how relevant or important, few people make the effort to actually read it (sorry!).

In general, start dialogue on a new line, not in the middle of a paragraph. Break up long paragraphs. These are easy fixes that makes writing so much more inviting to read (and I'm certain the Vocal Moderators would love this!).

3. Stories that follow the same plot line as all the others

Many of the entries used the ideas in the LBB competition description: winning a lottery or receiving an inheritance.

However, I have also come across some stories that include a unique take on this or an unexpected ending β€” and that's awesome!

β€”β€”β€”

So, without further ado, here are my 5 picks of who I think *could* win the LBB Challenge!

LAGNIAPPE by Noah Thomas

Why I liked this story

The writing style is evocative and gives a real sense of the world protagonist Charles Wheatley is living in. The sentences vary in length and structure, giving good pace and making for easy, yet engaging reading. Dialogue is minimal but drives the plot forward. There is a motif of Sprite soda throughout the story that is used as a plot device. I always love a good, well crafted motif!

The story also has a strong sense of character and character development throughout β€” we are given insight into Charles' past life and witness him differently with the world and people around him as his circumstances change. While a lottery features as a plot point, like many other entries, it engages with the concept in a unique way, and the little black book is a subtle addition. The story also ends unexpectedly β€” I won't spoil it for you β€”Β and I think it is a great moral lesson. Lagniappe was also selected as a Top Story. Have a read and see what you think!

LUBECK by Paige Klaver

Why I liked this story

A well-researched story set in a small German city (Luebeck) about a family's history in World War II. The story engages closely with social paradigms in contemporary German thought & culture concerning inherited guilt, discovery of buried Nazi pasts, and perhaps a critique about human nature in responding to such repulsive revelations. It also raised issues like how a person descended from with German emigrants navigates their sense of cultural identity and heritage.

The writing style evoked a good sense of place and environment, descriptions using all the senses to help the reader feel as if they are there with the protagonist. The little black notebook and the $20,000 are included as the watershed moment in the narrative structure.

PARTNERS by Robert Jack

Why I liked this story

A western crimefiction that features compelling dialogue-driven plot. The story hits the classic bullseyes of short story writing: it launches right in to the middle of the action and ends on a great plot twist that made me go back and re-read the earlier sections. The notebook integration in the story is consistent, yet subtle, and the $20,000 is a understated plot point driving the story.

The characters are well-developed and the dialogue-driven story is engaging and tight, ensuring the narrative pace is kept moving along. The narrative voice is through the eyes of the main character, and resists temptation to go beyond the western genre while thoroughly evoking the scene in the readers imagination by select detils and descriptions like

"A gust of wind roared through the trees, bringing with it a fresh dusting of snow that clung to the kid’s entire left side."

COST OF FREEDOM by Jason Basaraba

Why I liked this story

This piece deals with a topic I have not previously come across in short stories. It is set during the volatile circumstances medical humanitarian workers in Rwanda faced in during escalating violence leading up to the 1994 genocide. This story boldly touches on power dynamics and impossible choices paid by those seeking safety set against the wider context of sacrifice, asylum seeking and despair of those with privilege who hoped to make the world a better place instead now suffering alongside the people they intended to help.

The $20,000 is introduced immediately; the little black book features first as a type of Chekov's gun (literary technique). Why is this book so precious that the protagonist risks his life not to lose it? We discover its tragic significance at the end of the story.

WHY DIDN'T ANYBODY DO SOMETHING by Cara Davidson

Why I liked this story

There have been a few stories that I noticed where the book is magical, or has magic writing appear in it. However, this post-apocalyptic speculative fiction story redeveloped the trope by breaking the fourth wall, and speaking directly to us, the Reader. The little black book is the protagonist of the story and the $20,000 is integrated as the suckerpunch. The story might be a little didactic, but this is probably a positive in this case: the current issues of climate change and the resulting social, economic and environmental upheaval are all alluded to. The writing voice is powerful, accusatory and vivid.

Yet, the story does not end on a trite note about concern β€” a plot twist squarely puts the onus back on us as individuals, in the tradition of Greta Thunberg. A timely, and very relevant piece to remind us of the bigger picture issues that don't simply disappear while our world is so preoccupied β€” and necessarily so! β€” with the pandemic.

What stories do *you* think should win?

Have you noticed ways your own writing could improve, or ideas that you could strengthen in your stories? If you're looking for encouragement, feedback and writing development, and opportunities for mutual promotion, I've started a Vocal Creators Cooperative Facebook Group β€” why not join us?

You have lots of opinions about other Creators' stories ... but did *you* enter the Challenge, Lili?

Why, yes I did. This is the link to my entry, if you'd like to have a read. 😊

My story is about a mysterious artist seeking human connection set along the canals in Venice, Italy. I think I came up with a unique approach for this Challenge, and different angle on how someone unexpectedly comes into the $20,000! But even though I work in editing, it's almost impossible to be your own editor and hard to be emotionally distant enough to judge your own work, so will leave that to your opinions for now!

Let me know your thoughts @lilijanewriter or on Vocal Creators Cooperative! 😊

You can also check out some of my other writing & poetry here

If you liked this article, please show some love and give it a ❀️ , or maybe even a tip! 😊

list
132

About the Creator

Lili Jane

Hey there! I’m Lili 😊 she/her

I'm a dreamer curious about philosophy, the world and people's lived experiences. I dabble in creative writing from time to time.

Love to hear your thoughts about my stories! Connect with me @lilijanewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.