Journal logo

5 Life Lessons I've Learned So Far

There's A Blessing To Every Lesson

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
13
5 Life Lessons I've Learned So Far
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

As my birthday slowly approaches, I spend more time contemplating and re-evaluating my growth which falls into three categories: mind, body, and soul. Endless hours of therapy, journal entries, and stories on Vocal, I've witnessed a jump in my mental fitness and clarity. I made a conscious effort to grow and improveannually based on the saying, "you aren't living if you aren't growing." I've had my fair share of ups and downs, and every lesson I've learned I carry with me as wisdom to share it with those who may not know.

The process of evolution is never-ending and having patience and giving yourself grace is learned quicker than expected. It takes an open- mind and room for error to process your hiccups, take accountability, and change behavior. Unfortunately, I didn't learn that lesson as quickly as I would like but, I'm grateful I knew when I did. Being labeled an "old soul" at sixteen was confusing and irritating, and I never understood the correlation. The older I became, the more I understood. As put, it's someone wise beyond their years, having the mental capacity of knowing the difference between right and wrong and having great judgment. In this article, I list the five lessons I've learned so far. Sharing has always been my strong suit, so I decided to share these lessons with you to guide you through your growing pains.

Just Because We're Related Doesn't Mean We Relate

In the words of my therapist, "you don't choose your family" I'm born into a tribe of other humans with different perspectives, morals, values, and outlooks on the world. Somehow, we believe that some unwritten rule our loyalty is automatic when it comes to family. When having siblings, our parents preached "sticking together" and needing each other. As I figure out who I am as a human, I won't always agree on how others live their lives. Family members, friends, acquittances, and co-workers may or may not have the same views. Making mental notes of who I spend my energy and time with, helps me manage family relationships. I am not usually the one who handles relating to every person I'm blood-related to, and that's ok.

High Expectations Lead to Heartbreak

This mantra is a hard habit to break, but it is necessary when protecting my peace and energy. One quote that I dislike is "treat people how you want to be treated." Sadly, that saying doesn't exist. For instance, if you come from a wholesome family who is affectionate, it's merely impossible to expect someone from a non-wholesome family to reciprocate that love. I've discovered a lot more happening in my life when I didn't expect anything from anyone. Switching my focus on the expectations that I set for myself is fulfilling.

It's Not Them It's Me

Re-read that again. Have you ever had a day where you're just grumpy? Things aren't going your way, one thing after another is happening, and you seem you've lost control. My bad day has nothing to do with those around me; why do I say this? Well, people will live the way they want whether they know I'm upset with them or not. I quickly learned that everything isn't always about me. We're all consumed with our own lives, and I strongly doubt that strangers are plotting to make my life miserable. The majority of the time, they (they meaning people you may or may not know) don't even know why you're upset. If they aren't mad, then why should I be?

Meet People Where They Are and NOT Where I Want Them to Be

No matter your level of consciousness, you can't force others to feel your "vibe." You can be an informative friend or lead by example. Still, if people aren't in the space to meet you where you are mental, there is absolutely nothing you can do but practice patience or give that person the necessary distance to play catch up. Figuring out ways to obtain consistent peace throughout your life is imperative to let some things go, and sometimes that means people. When we have the mentality of knowing that people come into your life for seasons or a lifetime can do wonders on your mental space; practicing this can help you learn acceptance.

Change Your Mood. Change Your Environment

Do you ever find yourself saying, "I need a vacation?" most of the time, which means "I need a new environment." The two things I love the most are taking walks and water. I'm an earth sign, so I find solace in admiring nature. Hearing the birds chirp, feeling the sun pierce my skin, seeing trees, flowers and hearing the cars zoom past me takes me away from stress and worry. I also don't mind sitting poolside or being at the beach. A different environment allows me to think clearly about specific decisions that I need to make.

I hope that you find these lessons useful to you. I'm open and ready to receive many more life lessons.

***********************************

If you haven't joined the Vocal+ community, what are you waiting for? Join now to be a part of a community of creatives to share your content. Click here to join now.

***********************************

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

humanity
13

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.