Journal logo

3 Simple Strategies to Try Before You Quit Writing for Good

Rediscover Your Why

By Elise L. BlakePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2023
43

Writing is not always an easy journey, and there may be moments when you feel like giving up.

You're not alone and I'm sad to say that almost all of us have felt like that at one point or another.

Almost every author of the books you admire on your shelves may have at one point thought about giving up, but the big difference between them and you?

They didn't.

So you shouldn't either. 

If you're thinking of throwing in the towel here are three simple strategies for you to try that can help reignite your motivation for staying on your writing journey. 

Rediscover Your Why

Do you know why you originally decided to pursue your dream of writing?

Did you ever truly decide or did the love for the written word and the act of creating stories with the power of a pen reach out and grab you?

Take a moment to reflect back on what it was that brought you to the start of your writing journey. This just might be enough to remind you why you should continue on it. 

Embrace Creative Exploration

 Maybe you're just in a rut because the story you have been trying to write has been as easy as pushing a boulder up a hill.

Try something different. This can be anything from a different story to a different genre, to a daily writing prompt about anything and everything.

Completing smaller goals might just prove to yourself that you do have what it takes to be a writer, you just needed to change things up a little bit. 

You never know where these practices may lead, they may even bring you to the doorstep of a brand new story you can't wait to bring to life. 

Seek Support and Accountability

Sometimes as a writer, we can feel just so alone. 

We sit at our desks and write about imaginary conversations that are going on in our heads that no one else will ever be able to hear. Sure we do our best to bring it to life, but sometimes it can be hard for those around us to understand. 

Reach out to fellow writers or join writing communities if you haven't yet. I'm sure there are some local ones near you and if not the internet is a wonderful place to connect with writers from all over the world who have experienced the very same thing you are going through at this moment and they can help you see the other end of the tunnel again. 

An accountability partner is also a wonderful thing that can force us back onto the tracks when our mind wants to run us into a ditch. 

My partner doesn't know a thing about crafting stories or writing books, but he's sure to check in with me every day asking how I have been doing with my writing, if I achieved my goals for the day, and it has been a life changer. On days I don't want to write he tells me it's ok - as long as I pick my pen back up again tomorrow. 

Support is one of the number one writing tools all authors need.

This is why I always include in my sign-off a message to the writer reading that I very much appreciate the time they took to read my article, but it's time to get back to writing and so I'll leave you with the same. 

---

You fell in love with writing for a reason and the way you are feeling right now is not going to last forever. If you quit now you may look back at this time and regret that decision, but what you won't regret is sticking through and finishing your story. 

There's no one else out there who can write it for you so the world needs you to finish it. 

I need you to finish it. 

Get back to writing.

With love, 

B. King xo xo

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

Click my link to start your 7-day free trial today and start earning more for your stories.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium.

If you would like to experience Medium yourself, consider supporting me and thousands of other writers by signing up for a membership. It only costs $5 per month, it supports us writers, greatly, and you have the chance to make money with your own writing as well. By signing up with this link, you'll support me directly with a portion of your fee, it won't cost you more. If you do so, thank you a million times!

If you love what you've read you can also show your support by buying me a cup of coffee to fuel my writing. 

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/barbaraking

____________________________________________________

literaturehow tocareeradvice
43

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Diana Dawson2 months ago

    Increasing traffic to your website requires a strategic approach and consistent effort. I would advise you to guest post on authoritative websites and blogs in your niche. Not only will this help you reach a wider audience, but it will also create backlinks to your site, which can improve your search engine rankings. Or contact linkbuilding experts. Good luck!

  • James David2 months ago

    Increasing traffic to your website involves a combination of strategies to attract more visitors and engage existing ones. There are many companies are available on Internet where you can easily get all these services. Just visit them and select best one .

  • Ben Owen2 months ago

    Useful tips. I also facing the same issue. I am a writer and create articles on my website but failed to get good traffic to my website. I want to know that how can I increase traffic to my website? I need suggestions

  • Ikechukwu Modungwo10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/authors/ikechukwu-modungwo please take a look at my profile and read any one of my articles. I wish more than anything to have more reads on my articles but I'm failing. Maybe you can read some and tell me how to get more reads, maybe there's something I'm doing wrong. Thanks.

  • Jaydenhilton10 months ago

    Thanks for the information. https://www.upsers.app/

  • Mahrosh Khan11 months ago

    Congratulations

  • ❤️📝❤️

  • Rene Peters11 months ago

    I love this, it's very helpful! Also, congrats on top story!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Being vulnerable and writing about the way you push through obstacles inspires other writers. Thank you for taking that time to reveal your vulnerability!

  • Waldemar Kulpa11 months ago

    It is amazing ....

  • Rebekah Crawley11 months ago

    I feel so heard haha, thank you for the little push today Barbara :)

  • Your experience is extremely similar to the trials and difficulties that every writer encounters along the way. It serves as a lovely reminder that endurance is what distinguishes successful authors from their peers, even when the going gets tough and the want to give up overwhelms. Your shared tactics are quite helpful. Finding our "why" again is crucial because it rekindles the enthusiasm that first inspired us to become writers. Accepting creative exploration enables us to escape any limitations that might be impeding our development, opening the door to novel and fascinating possibilities. Please read my story and provide your valuable feedback https://vocal.media/journal/the-antidote-to-superhero-fatigue-in-marvel-s-secret-invasion-is-a-human-hero

  • Chidera 11 months ago

    Nice

  • Farhan Mirza 11 months ago

    wow , you have just written my heart out

  • Mikael Scorze11 months ago

    wish this site had a way to like things more than once like the claps on medium id give you 100 if i could

  • Mikael Scorze11 months ago

    loved this barbara I gave it love on medium too always value your insight and words keep it up you're meant for great things

  • I'm very pleased to read your thoughts but can you explain to me the word count aspect because it's abit confusing. Thanks!

  • Raghavendra S Rao11 months ago

    I agree with you. It all depends on your mood. You get an inspiration to write a new story in a shower. Then you start writing. After a day or so, you are stuck. Loose momentum. Need to generate inspiration and keep writing. Thanks for sharing.

  • JamaisWang11 months ago

    good job!i love your story

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Would someone please print this out and shout it from several hilltops and mountains? Don't give up when it gets hard; enjoy looking back at what you have achieved when you did not...and you will be amazed when you get your voice heard... ;)

  • Stephen A. Roddewig11 months ago

    I thought we all agreed to pretend Medium doesn't exist when we post on Vocal 👀

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Great advice Barbara! Congrats 🎉

  • Diani Alvarenga11 months ago

    Good points you make!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Very insightful and supportive. Congratulations!

  • Test11 months ago

    Thank you for writing this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.