Journal logo

2024 My Creative Year

#200

By Nettie BPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
1
www.kofi.com/nbphotoart

Challenge seen, challenge accepted. A challenge about aspirations for 2024 as a creator on Vocal. I believe in being transparent so I'm not going to stop now. Vocal never has been a big part of my creative platform. When I first started, years ago, I did what any new, inexperienced artist did, created a bunch of content and threw them at the screen, hoping one would stick. Then, after a few months, when they didn't I walked away thinking if it didn't happen overnight it wasn't going to happen at all.

Welcome to my life as an artist, create a lot of things, throw that at the website, everything falls, and I move on to something else. 2023 found me reshaping and rethinking it all. I've learned a lot over the years and what became clear is that I want a consistent and solid form of passive income. Why do this for free when I want to get paid for the products and services I can provide?

I'm not going to lie 2023 was a very hard and emotional year for me not only mentally but emotionally and, unfortunately, physically as well that pushed my health to the edge. An area I've never been to before and wanted to get away from it as soon as possible. I found inspiration in the world that was around me and went back to the basics of my photography and travel content, recreating my website and social media presence.

Inspiration came from my new Aussie pup which got me back on the trails, outdoors taking photos, and reducing my stress. Now my world was starting to come together and as I scrolled through social media ads for blogging kept coming up. Instantly, I thought of Vocal and began thinking about writing. I went to the website, logged in, and was instantly hit by the closed challenges.

I was suddenly reminded why I did like this website so much. Challenges!!! I loved them all and all of them got me to push my writing a little further, and those that didn't, gave me ideas so that I could create a story. Even though I haven't won any, the increase in reads was always a guarantee. Challenges. That will be my 2024 goal, starting with the current challenges.

I'm going to enter as many as possible and push my writing to different genres until I find those that inspire me the most. I love mysteries with a ghostly twist as well as my Aussie so there will be writings that include those categories and I feel a blog coming on about my adventures with my very first Aussie.

2024 will also bring more reads of other creators on this site. Looking for inspiration in their words that will hopefully help me create more as well as offer positive support for the work they are doing. 2024 I've called out as my creative year. I'm going to create, create, create, and not give up so quickly and reach that magic number so that I can travel more, visit more parks, and enjoy my days off on the road and in nature.

fact or fictionVocalindustrycareer
1

About the Creator

Nettie B

Welcome! Thanks for stopping by, if you like my posts, show your support with a tip, pledge, or subscribe. Also, check out my website at www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart for more of my photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.